Waiting

Today is a day of waiting.  We are at MD Anderson in Houston for Greg to have a plethora of tests.  Tomorrow will be one more test and two doctor’s appointments.  Needless to say, I am spending lots of time…waiting!  Waiting can be hard, but it can also be a good thing in this “always in a hurry” world.  While I’ve been waiting today, I’ve had lots of time to read God’s Word and focus my attention on His goodness to  me.  The last couple of years have been rough for our family, but today I am reminded of the fact that things could always be worse.  The Lord has been so faithful to provide for us and to comfort us and to give us peace when peace has been hard to find. I cannot imagine going through hard times without Him.

I’ve spent time today working on a Bible study that I recently started…One Thousand Gifts.  The author talks specifically about maintaining a heart of gratitude.  Even in difficult times, we can ALWAYS find something to be thankful for, although sometimes we may have to look a little harder to find those things.  Here is a great quote from the study guide:

“Not one of us can travel the rugged roads of earth and avoid all of the painful potholes.  It does not matter where you live, how much money you have, how much you love God, how careful you might be, how much faith you exercise, or how persistently you pray.  Hurt and heartache are truly unavoidable.  In a moment, without even seeing it coming, we all hit life’s unexpected potholes and feel jarring pain.  The question is not: Will you and I have these moments of loss and dizzying confusion?  The real issue is: How will we respond to these inevitable and unavoidable moments?  When we discover the secret to a heart of gratitude, we can face these certain moments with grace, strength, and even what seems impossible: joy.”

As you have probably heard before….we are all just coming out of a trial, in the middle of a trial, or about to be hit head-on with a trial.  How we respond will make all the difference.  No, it’s not easy.  No, it’s not fun.  Cancer stinks!  But I will try each day, sometimes minute by minute, to choose to have a heart of gratitude.  I won’t always succeed, but I will keeping pressing on!

So, my time of waiting today has been productive!  Waiting is indeed a good thing, sometimes!

“Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”  Psalm 27:14

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele Bradfield
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 22:08:30

    Thinking of you, Sandra!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 22:55:02

    Sandra — I’m happy to see you blogging your thoughts while you are “waiting”. I’m praying, my friend.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

