Biochemo Day 1 And A New Plan

A big thanks to everyone for your prayers, concern and words of encouragement over the last 24 hours.  It has been a big blow, but we have had time to process things and are ready to continue this fight against melanoma.  So very thankful that the King of Kings is on our side!

Last night was a long night with little sleep, especially for Greg.  They got the PICC line placed, but didn’t come to take him to x-ray to check for placement until about 2 am!  Then for the rest of the night, people were in and out checking vital signs, drawing blood, etc.  Plus, Greg had tremendous night sweats…..he was waking up every 15-20 minutes with his bed just drenched.

We spoke with the doctor this morning and he has come up with a new plan.  First for the good news….the brain MRI was clear!!  Thank you Jesus for some good news!  We also got a piece of news that is a little concerning.  The echo/stress test that was done on Greg’s heart yesterday did not show two “faces” of the heart.  This means that at two places in the heart, they could not see the blood flow.  They gave us three possible reasons for this.  One is that there is some ischemia….no/low blood flow to certain parts of the heart.  Another is that because of the recent heart surgery, there could be some anatomical changes causing some problems with viewing the blood flow.  The third possible reason is that there could be tumor growth.  Another, hopefully more conclusive, test will be done on Monday or Tuesday.

As far as the biochemotherapy, it has been decided that Greg will receive it in two sessions instead of one.  Typically the three chemical drugs are given concurrently with the immunological drugs over a course of 5 days.  They have decided that, because of Greg’s already weakened condition, he will be given the chemical drugs first over days 1-4, then he will receive the immunological drugs over days 5-9.  Then there will be 2 days of “recovery”, although depending on blood counts, he might would be here another additional day or two.

So, today is day one…although they have not started anything yet.

Please pray for the following:

1. That our family would deal with our current circumstances in a way that pleases God and points others to Him

2. That the heart test next week would come back normal

3. That Greg would tolerate the biochemo with minimal side effects

4. That the Lord would use this biochemo to completely heal Greg’s body

5. For our kids. It is so hard to be away from them and have to call from Houston to give them sad news like this. Pray that they would feel the Lord’s peace and comfort while we are away. Pray for Katie, who is struggling with being away at camp this summer, that she would have a peace about going on with her plans.

6. For all of us, that we would not become angry or bitter or depressed, but that we would continue to focus on one day at a time, trusting the plan that the Lord has for our family.

“Shall we indeed accept good from God and not accept adversity?”  Job 2:10

Trusting His Plan,

Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amanda o
    May 18, 2013 @ 15:06:28

    You have been continually on my heart all day today. Thank you for letting us know how to pray. Remembering how you ministered to that nurse during your last visit, I can only imagine how many more people you have been a light to. I know God is so thrilled that you are willing to share why and how you have that hope. You are ALL in my prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Heather Smith
    May 18, 2013 @ 15:12:45

    Sandra, thinking of you and Greg and your family often…praying for healing thru biochemo… Don’t give up the fight…Love you all dearly and can see Gods grace all over your posts…thank you for sharing this struggle with us.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Carla Gates
    May 18, 2013 @ 15:46:45

    I have never checked Facebook so often in my life. Constantly looking for your updates. Thanks for letting so many be a part of this journey. The ripple effect of your families faithfullness will have eternal impact! So many are encouraged challenged and convicted by your witness.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Renae Wright
    May 18, 2013 @ 21:30:31

    Sandra and Greg,
    You and your family have been through so much. Please know I am here and willing to help out in any way possible. If Katie needs help with her car, please feel free to call and let me know. You are always on my mind and in my prayers! Stay strong and may God bless!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sherie Evans
    May 18, 2013 @ 21:34:23

    I too have checked for an update several times today. Been praying on and off since last night. Thanking God for the good news about the brain MRI! We continue to pray for thus Biochemo to work, heal and that it will have minimal side effects for Greg. Sent my community group your prayer requests last night in a group email. I will be singing at HEY154 in the morning. You know all of us on the worship team will be praying for Greg. Praying the scriptures I sent to you yesterday over and over.
    Leaving you with two songs we will give to The Lord tomorrow. Wish I could sing them for you now……

    Lord, I Need You

    Verse 1:
    Lord I come, I confess
    Bowing here I find my rest
    Without You I fall apart
    You’re the one that guides my heart

    Chorus:
    Lord, I need You, oh I need You
    Every hour I need You
    My one defense, my righteousness
    Oh God, how I need You

    Verse 2:
    Where sin runs deep, Your grace is more
    Where grace is found is where You are
    And where You are Lord I am free
    Holiness is Christ in me
    Yes where You are Lord I am free
    Holiness is Christ in me

    Bridge:
    So teach my song to rise to You
    When temptation comes my way
    And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
    Jesus You’re my hope and stay
    And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
    Jesus You’re my hope and stay

    Lord Our God
    Verse 1
    Promise maker, Promise Keeper
    You finish what You begin
    Our provision through the desert
    You see it through ’til the end
    You see it through ’til the end

    Chorus
    The Lord our God is ever faithful
    Never changing through the ages
    From this darkness You will lead us
    And forever we will say
    You’re the Lord our God

    Verse 2
    In the silence, in the waiting
    Still we can know You are good
    All Your plans are for Your glory
    Yes, we can know You are good
    Yes, we can know You are good

    Bridge
    We won’t move without You
    We won’t move without You
    You’re the light of all
    And all that we need
    We won’t move without You
    We won’t move without You
    You’re the light of all
    And all that we need

    Like

    Reply

  6. Gina Ramsey
    May 18, 2013 @ 21:39:36

    Thinking of your family constantly. I was going through boxes of old pictures from Mama’s today and ran across many pictures of me and Greg….brought back some great memories…Halloween, Christmas, birthday parties,etc. I am scanning them and I will send them to Greg for when he feels like looking at them.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

