Life Is Short

Yesterday was a sad day for our family as we received the news that the father of Katie’s best friend had passed away.  Stanton had battled brain cancer for about a year, and yesterday the healing that the Lord has promised was made manifest, as Stanton left this earth and entered into the very presence of God with a completely healed and pain-free body!  Although we are overjoyed at the thoughts of Stanton seeing Jesus face to face, we are so very heart-broken for the family that is left to go on without their husband and Daddy.  Stacy and her girls, Morgan and Hannah, will continue to be in our prayers as they walk out this part of the journey that the Lord has set before them.  So many things don’t seem “fair” in this sick, sin-filled world that we live in.  But even in these times that seem to make no sense, we will continue to say, “I trust you, God.”  Because He IS trustworthy, He IS good and He IS faithful.

After I got off the phone with Morgan yesterday, I sat down to pray for their family.  I opened my Jesus Today devotional and this is what I read:

“I am Sovereign, and I am Good.  These are essential truths about who I am.  When you are struggling with the brokenness of this world, it can be a challenge to believe both truths simultaneously.  Because I am Sovereign, I am ultimately in control of everything that happens – to you and to others.  This knowledge is sometimes hard to swallow, especially in the face of atrocities or catastrophes.  Amid such carnage, many people conclude that only a cruel God could be overseeing a world like this.

Let me assure you that I am absolutely Good.  I am pure Light, and there is not an iota of darkness in Me.  My absolute Goodness in the face of so much evil is totally beyond your understanding.  When you are struggling with these mysteries, come to Me.  Express yourself freely to Me, trusting that I care and understand.  Then, subordinate your finite mind to My infinite intelligence, My Sovereign ways.  Relinquish your demand to understand, and rest in My compassionate Presence.  Cling to Me in childlike trust, believing that My way – though mysterious – is perfect.”

Such appropriate words for what I was feeling at the moment.  I just love how the Lord speaks to us and comforts us when we turn to Him in our pain and sadness.  I am so thankful that Stacy, Morgan and Hannah also know how to trust God, even in the hard times.  I pray that His Presence, peace, strength and comfort will be more real to them now than ever before.

We hear it all the time, but life really is short!  We sometimes have hard days, even years that we feel like will never end….but in reality, life is short.  We only have a short time to love our families, to speak those kind words, to tell someone that we love them and are thankful for them, to share about God’s love and salvation with others, to play that game or read that book to our children, to cook that favorite meal for our husbands, to thank our parents for all that they have done for us, to go on that “dream vacation”, to marvel at God’s magnificent sunset, or beach or mountains, to make an impact for God’s Kingdom.

Stanton’s life was short by our standards, but his life was the very length that the Lord had planned for it to be.  God wasn’t surprised by the amount of days that Stanton was here on earth.  Even though, his days were short, Stanton’s impact for God’s Kingdom was long-lasting.  The coming days will be hard for Stacy, Morgan and Hannah, but they have the assurance that they will be reunited with Stanton again.  HE IS OUR HOPE!

I’ll never forget one day when Stanton came to our house to pick up Morgan after she had spent the night with Katie.  While Morgan was getting her things together, Greg and I were in the kitchen talking to Stanton.  Jacob was in the room with us….he was about 3 or 4 at the time.  After they left, Jake watched as they walked down the sidewalk and then looked up at me and thoughtfully said, “Hmmm, he’s a nice man.”  I must agree with Jacob…….Stanton really was a nice man!

Trusting His Plan,

Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marykprather
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 10:05:37

    Sandra, your words are ministering to me in such a special way. Thank you for your faith and sharing your heart here. I will pray for Stanton’s family ~ and continued prayers for you, my friend.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Carole Peek
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 10:09:33

    Sandra! Your words are so powerful and so true! Thank you for sharing what is in your heart…it’s an amazing heart! Love to you all!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jan Williams
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 10:55:20

    Sandra, What the others have said can’t be said any better. I am so touched by your posts and this one in particular. Greg and your children are so blessed to have you, your faith, your support, your love. And now it seems that we are all blessed who are able to read, what obviously comes from your heart. You should write a book. Please tell Greg hello for me.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Alice Hoffman
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 11:33:18

    Well said! Thanks for writing…. Alice

    Like

    Reply

  5. Angela Dennis
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 12:12:17

    Sandra, I read that as well yesterday and it was clearly God speaking! Thanks for posting this! Your family has also had to endure much and the faith of your family has also been an inspiration to so many! All of you, as well as the Johnstons are in our prayers!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Carolyn Masters
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 16:45:40

    We were sad to hear the news that Morgan’s dad,Stanton had passed away. We are praying for Stacy, Hannah & Morgan. Praying for Katie as well.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Faye
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 21:31:42

    What beautiful words of peace!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

