Take Courage! It Is I. Don’t Be Afraid.

Started out the morning sitting in the waiting room while Greg went back for an echocardiogram. Thinking about the long day ahead of us….lots of sitting and waiting for me and lots of tests, sitting and waiting for Greg. Thinking about what the results of the tests will show. I opened up my Jesus Today devotional and this is what I read:

When you are feeling overwhelmed by your circumstances, take time to listen to Me. Hear Me saying, “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” Listening to Me when you are feeling stressed requires discipline and trust. Your racing thoughts make it hard to hear My gentle whisper. Ask the Holy Spirit to calm your mind so that you can hear My voice. Remember that I–the Prince of Peace–am with you at all times. I am not only with you; I am also in your circumstances. Moreover, I am in control of everything that happens to you. Although I am never the author of evil, I am fully able to use bad things for good. This does not remove your suffering, but it does redeem it–infusing it with meaning. So if you are in a storm of difficulties, I say to you, “Take courage! It is I.” Search for signs of My abiding Presence in your current situation. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.

Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid. Matt. 14:27

After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire, came a gentle whisper. 1 Kings 19:12

You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. Jer. 29:13

Greg is now back for a CT scan and he still has a PET scan and an MRI scheduled for later today. I still have feelings of anxiety and being overwhelmed, but I will try to heed the words of Jesus, “Take courage. It is I! Don’t be afraid.”

Trusting His Plan,
Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alice Hoffman
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 16:51:37

    You can only face one moment at a time. I have found grace is never given ahead of time but when we need at in the amazingly right amount for that moment. Praying The Lord will guard you heart and mind with His peace. And keep you from racing into all the “what ifs”. May He define your peace today.
    Alice

    Like

    Reply

  2. Linda Sewell
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 17:00:07

    Be encouraged by your message from the Lord. “Take courage. It is I! Don’t be afraid.” He wanted you to hear that today. When your thoughts go to anxiety and fear, remember also to “take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5. Remember God’s truth. I am heading to Camp Hawkins tomorrow, so will not have a computer. I will check back in on Sunday. I will be praying for you all.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 17:01:55

    As someone one has waited and was full of uncertainty, I understand. I kept praying and it felt like a tornado at times, but he comes as a gentle spirit. Remember that you can only deal with a minute at a time, sometimes, and that is okay. During this time in your life, is the most sweetest with your Lord you can have. Cherish it and keep pressing in him. You are an inspiration. Lord, I ask that you give my friend peace beyond any earthly knowledge. Fill her and her husband with your spirit and give them strength to get through this trail. I ask, Lord because you say that we have not, because we ask not. So, I am asking for Greg’s complete healing and your Testimony to be their life. You are our Savior, our Prince of Peace, Our Comforter, and our healer. To all things be Glory to you FOREVER. In Jesus’ holy name-Amen. ❤

    Like

    Reply

  4. Karla Lail
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 20:30:32

    How cool that God was speaking directly to you! God is really using Jesus Calling in my life to change me! And He’s using your blog to do that too! You find the most appropriate verses for the moment. I am praying for you from up here in Vermont this week.

    Like

    Reply

  5. mamaduck27
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 07:59:51

    Thank you, Sandra. I needed that today, too.
    Love and prayers,
    Susanne

    Like

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 01:19:29

    Love this. Love you. Praying.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

