God’s Word Wins Every Time!!

Let me start by saying this is a LONG post, so you may want to get a cup of coffee first! A lot of the things that I put on the blog are because I want to have a record of what God is doing in our lives as we walk this path set before us. He amazes me every day, in how He tenderly and faithfully takes us step by step. So…if you choose not to read it all, that’s okay…I won’t hold it against you! But if you do read it, I pray the Lord will encourage you as He has encouraged me through writing it.

Lately I have found myself getting a bit frustrated because of all of the things that cancer “seems” to be stealing from our family. As I have been talking to the Lord about this, He made it clear to me that most of these things are just lies, and He reminded me that satan is the “father of all lies.” He also reminded me that satan has come to steal, kill and destroy, but that He has come that we may have life, and have it to the full. I know that the best way to combat satan’s lies is with the word of God, so I set out to put satan in his place….and out of my thoughts! I’ve spent several days writing out the lies that satan wants me to believe and then countering that with the Truth of God’s word. This is what I have come up with….

Satan wants me to believe that cancer is stealing our time, but God says, “I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten.” (Joel 2:25)

Satan wants me to believe that cancer is stealing our finances, but God says He will “meet all our needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus.” (Phil 4:19)

Satan wants me to believe that cancer is stealing our peace, but the Lord says “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Satan wants me to believe that cancer is stealing our joy, but Jesus says that no one (or thing) will take our joy from us. (John 16:22) He says that weeping may last for the night, but joy comes in the morning. (Ps. 30:5) He tells me that those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! (Ps. 126:5) He says that when the cares of my heart are many, His consolations will cheer my soul. (Ps. 94:19)

Satan wants me to feel insecure, but the Word tells me that the Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; He holds my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places and I have a beautiful inheritance. (Ps. 16:5-6)

Satan wants us to believe that cancer can take our lives, but Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” (John 11:4) And God said, I loved you so much that I gave my only Son, so that you could have ETERNAL life! (John 3:16)

Satan wants me to believe that cancer can steal our future, but God says, “I know the plans I have for you; plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” (Jer. 29:11)

Satan wants us to believe that cancer will steal our health, but “the Lord sustains him on his sickbed; in his illness you restore him to full health.” (Ps. 41:3) So we say, “Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved, for you are my praise.” (Jer. 17:14)

Satan wants us to believe that cancer will steal our confidence, but I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall. Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident. (Ps. 16:8, Ps. 27:1-3)

Satan wants us to believe that we have no hope. Instead, we will say, “You are our hiding place and our shield; we hope in Your word. Uphold us according to Your promise, that we may live, and let us not be put to shame in our hope!” (Ps. 119: 114, 116) He is our HOPE!

Satan wants us to believe that cancer will steal our laughter. But the Word says, “Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy. The Lord has done great things for us and we are filled with joy! (Ps. 126:2-3)

Satan wants us to believe that cancer will steal our strength, but God says to us, “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Is. 41:10) And we say to God, “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Ps. 73: 25-26) I can do all things through Him who strengthens me! (Phil 4:13)

Satan wants to use cancer to make us forget where we have our trust. The Lord reminds us that our trust is not in statistics, or doctors, or medicine or treatments. Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God! (Ps. 20:7) Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit. (Jer. 17:7-8) But I trust in You, O Lord; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in Your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors! Make Your face shine on your servant; save me in your steadfast love!

Sometimes satan uses cancer to make us feel like the Lord has forgotten us. The Word says the Lord is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. And those who know Your name put their trust in You, for You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You. You do not forget the cry of the afflicted. (Ps. 9:9-10,12) Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you. (Deut. 31:6) This I know, that God is FOR me! (Ps.56:9)

Satan wants to make us believe that we are losing the battle. The Word says, “The Lord will fight for you, you need only to be still. (Ex. 14:14) This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s. (2 Chron. 20:15)

Sometimes, satan uses cancer to make us feel as though we have lost our focus or our direction. Sometimes we simply say, “We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on You.” (2 Chron. 20:12) And He tells us, “I will lead the blind in a way that they do not know, in paths that they have not known I will guide them. I will turn the darkness before them into light, the rough places into level ground. These are the things I do, and I do not forsake them.” (Is. 42:16)

Satan wants to use cancer to make us feel like we have lost all courage. But the Lord infuses our souls with courage when He says, “Surely He will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.” (Ps. 91:3-7)

Satan wants to use cancer to make us believe that God doesn’t hear us when we call out to Him. The Word says, “In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From His temple He heard my voice, and my cry to Him reached his ears.” (Ps. 18:6)

Satan tries to use cancer to make us feel like we can’t take any more. But God reminds us that though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again, but the wicked stumble when calamity strikes. (Prov. 24:16) We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. (2 Cor. 4:8-9) And He tells us, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Cor. 12:9-10)

Satan tries to use cancer to consume us with anxieties. But, “when anxiety was great within me, Your consolation brought me joy.” (Ps. 94:19) Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. (Lam. 3:22)

Satan wants to use cancer to make us become impatient, but “I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” (Ps. 27:13-14)

And finally, satan wants us to believe that this cancer is impossible to beat, but we believe that with man this is impossible, but with God ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!!! (Matt. 19:26)

Told you it was long! But, I hope God’s Word encourages you as much as it does me! I am SO thankful that He is WITH us and He is FOR us!! What would we be without Him??

Greg continues to feel okay and is eating better. His bloodwork has been alright, except for his hemoglobin still being low. I’m sure this is one of the reasons he stays so tired and easily fatigued. His stomach still doesn’t feel just right, but we are so thankful that it has improved to the point that he is eating more. And some great news…the tumor in Greg’s thigh has really gotten smaller! We believe this is because of the new oral chemo that he is taking. We are praying that it is doing the same to the tumors that we can not see. Praise God for His goodness!!

We are getting things ready to go back to Houston. We will fly out on Monday. Also, just a reminder about the prayer circle that our friend Lisa is organizing to pray for Greg. It will be this Sunday, Aug. 4 at 4 pm at our house. If you would like to come, we would love to see you!

Trusting His Plan,
Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhondaboyle
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 00:51:23

    Like

    Reply

  2. john@onesourcegc.com
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 01:06:50

    Sandra…thank you for the joy among the tears…your words are the words of the Holy Spirit and your heart is the heart of Christ. A mind set on the Spirit is life and peace! So thankful for the eternal relationship we all have as His children…Laurie and I send our love to you and Greg and look forward to seeing y’all in Sunday. Praying for good travel and continued healing!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Michele Bradfield
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 01:35:27

    Amen! I think Satan has been thoroughly rebuked!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Dan Honea
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:23:26

    Praise God for His awesome, living Word !

    Like

    Reply

  5. Amanda Owenby
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:46:57

    I went and got my coffee like you suggested, then couldnt drink it for the tears which filled my eyes. Gods truth does this to me and you shared all of his truth and promises. Thank you for sharing how God is ever present, not silent and not deserting you when you are calling on him.

    Like

    Reply

  6. kddmyers
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:50:35

    Amen! And glory to God for His beautiful Word.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sherie Evans
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 08:51:18

    God’s word is amazing! We love you Sandra
    . Praying with all we have, but more importantly, praying God’s Word…

    Like

    Reply

  8. Cherie Maurer
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 09:31:30

    Thank you for taking the time to write this down and for sharing it with the rest of us!!! This has ministered to me and encouraged me immensely!!! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Faye
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 10:20:36

    Wow! How powerful and affirming to read! Sandra, this is a mighty read from a mighty God! I thank God that he has been so faithful and loving to still your heart and impart his assuring and strengthening truth.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Tracy
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 10:26:27

    So very encouraging! Thank you for sharing the truth of God’s word! Excited to hear the tumor in Greg’s thigh is shrinking and praying that it is a “sneak peak” to complete removal of all cancer in his body! We cannot be there for the prayer circle at your home but will be praying at the same time and lifting y’all up as you travel to Houston this week.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Carla Gates
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:22:08

    When a godly, wise woman shares truth, how could I not read EVERY word? Thank you for sharing with us and blessing so many!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Pat Staley
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 14:30:46

    How I praise our awesome Father God for a daughter like you!! I admire you for your strength and courage and faith as you walk through this firey trial. Jesus shines through all you do and say. I praise Him most, because you are a daughter of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords!!!! I love you my daughter!!! You continue to touch my heart in ways that are inexpressible!!!

    Like

    Reply

    • Amanda Kurz
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 17:18:57

      His Word is so powerful! Thank you for reminding all of us of this. Ryan and I will not be able to make it to the prayer time on Sunday, but I will be praying many of these scriptures for you, Uncle Greg, and the kids!

      Like

      Reply

  13. Cheri Smith
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 23:31:39

    Thanks so much for sharing! Cecil and the kids and I will be praying for you guys at 3 central time on Sunday. Believing for a good report next week in Houston and glad to hear the tumor is shrinking! Praise God!

    Like

    Reply

  14. sonya
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 07:43:43

    Thank you so much for sharing this powerful word Sandra, In the years I’ve known you I’ve always admired your steadfastness and your dependence on God’s word in all things! You continue to point others to him (me included). I praise God for the shrinking tumor! I look forward to being at the circle of prayer on Sunday! Love u guys and praying for you too!

    Like

    Reply

  15. Gloria
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 10:20:48

    Thank you for the words today Sandra. It touches others as much as you. I want to share this on the Lighthouse page to touch others going through the same feelings with their children. Glad to hear about the shrinking tumor and praying with you that it is happening throughout Greg’s body. Continuing to lift you all up!

    Like

    Reply

  16. Carolyn Masters
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 12:46:37

    Sandra – Thank you for sharing your heart and God,s powerful and amazing words with us. It was encouraging and just what I needed today. We thank God for blessing us with a daughter-in-law that loves the Lord and has such faith and trust in Him in all circumstances. We know our son, Greg, is in good hands – God,s and
    yours. We love you all.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

