Scans, Sunsets And Scripture

We arrived in Houston about noon today. We spent a couple of hours resting in the hotel, then headed for MD Anderson. Greg had bloodwork done, then on to a PET scan. He finished the PET scan about 6:30 or so, and then we sat out on the patio for a few minutes so that Greg could get a bite to eat….he hadn’t been able to eat until after the PET scan was done, so he was getting hungry. Once he finished eating we went to check in for his MRI. Apparently they had changed the location for him to have it done, but no one had told us! So we walked a couple of blocks to the new location, and he is now back having the MRI done. He should be finished in another hour or so. We’ll get the results tomorrow when we meet with the doctor. After we meet with him, if he says it’s the thing to do, we’ll head over for Greg to receive his 2nd Ipi infusion.

So….here’s my cool God story for today! This morning, as I was packing up to leave for the airport, my sweet friend Stephanie sent me a text with a scripture verse that she wanted to share with me to encourage me. It was 2 Peter 1:2…..”Do you want more and more of God’s kindness and peace? Then learn to know Him better and better.” This is from the Living Bible translation. Later this afternoon, I received a facebook message from another friend, Jennifer. She was mentioning how she had been to a conference and felt like God had really spoken to her and revealed some things to her. My reply to her was “Don’t you just love it when God speaks right to your heart about something! I am continually amazed at what a personal God He is!” Her next reply contained some scripture references and one was……2 Peter 1:2!! I’m thinking that it is not a coincidence that this particular verse was sent to me twice today, especially since it is not an often-quoted verse. Seems like God wanted me to hear this message today! So much so, that He had two different people send it to me!! Again I say, Don’t you just love it when God speaks right to your heart about something! I am continually amazed at what a personal God He is!

Please keep us in your prayers as we meet with the doctor tomorrow, hear the results of the scans and decide on the next step in treatment.

The sun setting over part of the medical center complex.  Too bad I couldn't actually see the sun itself.

The sun setting over part of the medical center complex. Too bad I couldn’t actually see the sun itself.

Getting a bite to eat between scans and sitting outside trying to warm up.  It's freezing in this place!!

Getting a bite to eat between scans and sitting outside trying to warm up. It’s freezing in this place!!

My personal message from my personal God!  (This is the ESV translation)

My personal message from my personal God! (This is the ESV translation)

Trusting His Plan,
Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia Voigt
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 22:34:09

    There are no coincidences with the Lord! He is a personal God and Savior! Prayers for you both tomorrow! PS: Greg looks good!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Amanda Kurz
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 23:29:58

    We are sending our love and prayers your way! May God multiply your grace and peace in a way that defies mathematics.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Cherie Maurer
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 07:21:16

    So encouraging!!! You are becoming quite the writer!! 🙂 Praying often for you! Much love!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Elise Kilgore
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 13:22:01

    🙂 Praying! We love you guys.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Elijah Maurer
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:34:46

    God is a good God!! Praying for you everyday!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

