Hard Times

I’m sorry that it has been a while since I sent out an update on Greg, but to be honest…mentally, I just haven’t felt like doing it. Greg has been so sick since we returned from Houston last Thursday. He is constantly running a fever, getting as high as 102.6. He is extremely fatigued and lethargic and spends all of his time either on the couch or in his recliner. He is nauseous much of the time with periodic vomiting. He continues to have bone pain….shoulder, ribs, and back. He has terrible night sweats every night, usually having to get up to change his clothes two or three times. He is getting very little sleep. He has not gone to work at all this week….for anyone who knows Greg, this is a sure sign that he feels HORRIBLE!

We were in touch with MDA on Tuesday and they sent us some orders for labwork. We went yesterday and the results show that everything is within normal limits, except that the LDH is high. This is often an indicator that the disease is progressing. We were not surprised that the LDH was high, as this number was very elevated when Greg experienced rapid disease growth back in May, and his last scans showed that the disease is progressing again.

We spoke with MDA again today to see if there is something else we should/could be doing. They recommended that Greg go to the ER to see if they could perhaps manage his symptoms a little better than we are able to do at home. Greg really doesn’t feel well enough to sit in the ER for hours to be seen. He wants to wait until tomorrow and see if he feels better. If not, we may see about getting in to see his local oncologist.

This has been such a hard week for Greg. He feels so bad physically and hates not being able to work or do anything around the house. It is also terribly hard on me and the kids. It just breaks our hearts to see him feeling so badly and not be able to do anything to make it better. I know and believe all of God’s promises and the Truth of His Word, but right now I am having a hard time making my heart line up with what my mind knows is true. I am so thankful that the Lord knows my heart and that He understands my feelings.

So we continue to take one day at a time. The new medication that Greg has been receiving via infusion, has often been found to not work immediately. For some people, improvement is not seen until after the second, third or even fourth infusion. We pray that the Ipi will kick in SOON, and that the disease in Greg’s body would be halted and eventually eradicated!

Please join us in praying for the following:
1. That our family would handle our present circumstances in a way that pleases the Lord and points others to Him
2. That Greg’s temperature would go down and stay down
3. That Greg’s pain would be minimal and well-managed
4. That Greg’s nausea and vomiting would be controlled
5. That the night sweats would go away and that Greg could get some good rest at night
6. That Greg would begin to regain his strength and stamina
7. That we would have wisdom re: whether or not to go to the ER or the oncologist tomorrow
8. That the medication would begin to have a significant effect on the cancer
9. That we would experience the complete healing of Greg’s body SOON
10 That each of us would cling to the promises of God, and not let satan steal our joy, peace, strength, hope or courage

Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily! Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me! I will rejoice and be glad in your steadfast love, because you have seen my affliction; you have known the distress of my soul, and you have not delivered me into the hand of the enemy; you have set my feet in a broad place. Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am in distress; my eye is wasted from grief; my soul and my body also. But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, “You are my God.” My times are in your hand; rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors! Make your face shine on your servant; save me in your steadfast love! Oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you, in the sight of the children of mankind! Blessed be the Lord, for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love to me
when I was in a besieged city. I had said in my alarm, “I am cut off from your sight.” But you heard the voice of my pleas for mercy when I cried to you for help. Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord! ~from Psalm 31

Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer. From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the foe.
I long to dwell in your tent forever and take refuge in the shelter of your wings. Psalm 61:1-4

But you, O Lord, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. I cried aloud to the Lord, and he answered me from his holy hill. Psalm 3:3-4

Behold, the eye of the Lord is on those who fear him, on those who hope in his steadfast love, that he may deliver their soul from death and keep them alive in famine. Our soul waits for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in his holy name. Let your steadfast love, O Lord, be upon us, even as we hope in you. Psalm 33:18-22

Trusting His Plan,
Greg, Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherie Maurer
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 16:48:11

    Standing with you in prayer, my dear friend!! This is from Psalm 30.

    I will extol You, O Lord, for You have lifted me up,And have not let my foes rejoice over me. 2 O Lord my God, I cried out to You,And You healed me. 3 O Lord, You brought my soul up from the grave;You have kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.
    4 Sing praise to the Lord, you saints of His,And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name. 5 For His anger is but for a moment,His favor is for life;Weeping may endure for a night,But joy comes in the morning.
    6 Now in my prosperity I said,”I shall never be moved.” 7 Lord, by Your favor You have made my mountain stand strong;You hid Your face, and I was troubled.
    8 I cried out to You, O Lord;And to the Lord I made supplication: 9 “What profit is there in my blood,When I go down to the pit?Will the dust praise You?Will it declare Your truth? 10 Hear, O Lord, and have mercy on me;Lord, be my helper!”
    11 You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, 12 To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent.O Lord my God, I will give thanks to You forever.
    NKJV

    Like

    Reply

  2. Diane
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:00:21

    Fasting and praying that Greg will get some relief soon. Love to all of you.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Karla Lail
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:04:57

    Thanks for being real. I am praying for each of your requests and praying for peace and encouragement for you! Love you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:20:10

    Praying for an outpouring of supernatural ~ whatever is needed. All that is needed. Love to you.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Gina Ramsey
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:33:46

    You are all always on my heart and mind. It is hard to hear that Greg is feeling so bad. I think about him when I complain about a little ache or pain. I know how hard this is for all of you including Carolyn, George, Diane and her family. So I pray for all of you to have what you need to cope with this.

    Like

    Reply

  6. sonya
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 19:18:23

    Dear Sandra, I am so sorry for how badly Greg is feeling. It hurts me to see Dave in pain for just a day, so I know that your hurt is so much greater watching him struggle so much. I am lifting you guys up right now as I read this. Thank you for sharing your heart when I know you are struggling so much. Love you guys!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Carole Peek
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 19:35:58

    We are praying very hard for your precious family!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  8. celeste
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 21:27:30

    Praying for you all. God, grant them a reprieve this evening. Give them rest. Take away Greg’s nausea, fever, and night sweats.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Rusty & Melissa Guest
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 22:04:51

    God is near, Sandra.

    May He hold you and Greg close and give you exactly what you need each day….each hour…..each minute. He hears us and He LISTENS and responds with His grace and mercy.

    May God use your courageous postings for family and friends to somehow strengthen your faith and your keen awareness of His care. You’re an incredible inspiration to more people than you realize.

    Sure do love you guys.

    Like

    Reply

  10. Mary Beth
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 22:07:56

    My heart aches for all of you. I have been praying and will continue to do so. Thank you for sharing you family’s journey–the tears, struggles, hope and courage.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Christi McCully
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 22:19:54

    Oh Sandra, my prayers are with you always. I so pray for quick relief from this terrible disease. We love you guys so much.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Patty Wright
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 23:04:04

    We continue to pray for Greg. May the Lord give him renewed strength, whenever it seems too much to bear. I went to a website on melanoma, to have a better understanding of the disease. Also, read several testimonials of patients/survivors. One survivor said:
    “God may give you more than you can handle, but He will never give you more than He can handle. We just have to learn to trust Him to handle it.”

    Like

    Reply

  13. Robert and Gail
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 00:04:07

    Please feel our hugs and love tonight. It breaks our heart to know Greg is sick and in pain. Thank you for being so strong and taking care of our Greg. Prayers for all of you tonight!

    Like

    Reply

  14. Ike Copper
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 10:30:43

    Sandra, I am just so sorry that Greg and all of you are going through this. I have such a hard time understanding why. There are so many things that we can’t understand. I will continue to pray for Greg’s total healing and restoration of health.

    Like

    Reply

  15. Joyce
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 16:51:44

    Sandra, my heart is breaking along with yours! Your courage, love, and support of your husband is an inspiration to us all. Keep the faith, my dear friend, and always remember God is holding you close. We are praying for you all.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Elijah Maurer
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 10:07:28

    God be with you!! May he take this burden off all of you shoulders!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

