He’s Home

Today our beloved husband/father went home to be with the Lord. We are so blessed to have had him in our lives: me for 31 years, Katie for 20 years, Emilie for 18 years and Jake for 14 years……we only wish it had been longer. We are broken-hearted, but we rejoice knowing that Greg now has that new body that he has longed for for so long now. No more pain, no more sickness, no more nausea and vomiting, no more poking and prodding, no more not being able to do the things he wanted to do, no more being a “patient.” We love Greg so very much and are so grateful to God for giving him to us. Now, we have given him back to One who loves him even more than we do.

I will try to post more details later about what has happened, but for now I just can’t make myself write it down. Again we thank you all for your prayers for us during this hardest time in our lives.

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherie Evans
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:22:05

    I love you Sandra.

    Like

    Reply

  2. marykprather
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:27:07

    Your faith and grace are shining bright today, Sandra. I am rejoicing for Greg, and hurting so terribly for you. My prayer is for peace and comfort in the coming days for you and the kids.

    I hope I get to hug you soon… Much love to you all.

    Like

    Reply

  3. celeste
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:29:44

    We are broken-hearted, too. We are thankful for the impact he had on our lives those couple years as our small group leader, but even more as our friend. We love you all and are holding you up in prayer. You did everything you could. You were a good wife, Sandra. You fought for Greg when he didn’t have the strength to.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cathy Goddard
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:33:47

    My whole family is praying for you all. You have been and are, amazing. We love you very much.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Cheri Smith
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:39:27

    Sandra,
    Cecil and I are so sorry. We are both in shock and are heartbroken for you and your family. I pray that you all feel the love and peace of our Heavenly Father. We will continue to lift you guys in prayer in the coming days.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jennifer Switzer
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:43:09

    Heartfelt sympathy for you all. Today I was reminded of the fact that the Lord is always with us and that our trials can become testimonies. You have already inspired so many with your grace, strength, and faith. I pray that you are now surrounded by those that will lend you their strength as you enter this new time in your lives and struggle through this valley. All our love to you..

    Like

    Reply

  7. Toni Saba
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:51:42

    The preciousness of being in the family of God has been revealed to me and others as you guys have walked through this most difficult of times. Sandra, dear sister, each time you have posted, we have all been honored to pray for Greg, you, the kids, wishing we could take some of the pain and suffering with us each time we prayed. Yet through it all, what has blessed me the most is how you always asked us to pray that you all would above all bring glory to God in all of this. I am praising our great God! He has sent you and Greg through sufferings beyond human descriptions and yet by His grace (so evident) you all have sought to honor Him in it all. That is only done by His grace and by the power of the Holy Spirit. I know your heart (and the kids) are in a million pieces. Please know that the grace that has carried you this far will continue to carry you in the days ahead. Curl up in His lap, cry out to Him when the pain is bigger than your body and heart can take. He knows and we, His people, are here with you, for you. You are not alone.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Rhonda Abercrombie
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 23:55:37

    Love you all so much! We are heartbroken! You all are such an inspiration to so many. We continue to keep you all in our prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Carla Gates
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 00:08:57

    Oh sweet Sandra, I love you! My Emily said I want to meet her one day she sounds like a great woman. I replied the GREATEST, STRONGEST, MOST GODLY woman I know. I can’t express how sorry I am for your loss.

    Like

    Reply

  10. gdireneoe
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 00:34:33

    Sandra – Praying for His strength and peace for you and your children, in the coming days. He is mighty in you, sweet lady. And, I know you already know; He will sustain you. In ALL. (((((((Sandra)))))))

    Like

    Reply

  11. Gina Ramsey
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 01:33:38

    For the last two days I have been reliving my 49 plus years of my memories I shared with Greg. Dressing up for 50’s day in Jr high and trick-or-treating. Playing with Lincoln Logs at Mama Dixon’s and listening to Papa’s stories. Our twin dogs, Smokey and Bandit, and wearing a path through the woods between our houses. I went to my first Falcons game, listened to my first KISS album, and scared myself silly with the Ouiji Board with Greg! The memories go on and on and I am blessed to have had Greg as my cousin, more like a brother when we were kids, for all the years that I did. Through the precious memories he will always be with me and all of us who loved him.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Candy
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 05:17:47

    We love your family so deeply and are praying for God’s comfort through the coming days.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Sarah Harris
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 05:56:23

    My heart is with you Sandra.

    Like

    Reply

  14. Claudia
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:11:32

    I’ve only known you & Greg a short time, but my heart is breaking for you, but praise God for wholeness that only He can give. I understand completely that sometimes healing comes on the other side of Heaven. I think about it all the time. Thank you for being a shining light of true christianity. The days ahead are going to be tough, but I know our faithful God, will be with you. Continual prayers will be said by me & my family for strength & healing for you and your precious children, hold them close, draw on their strength.

    Like

    Reply

  15. Beth Davidson
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:18:06

    I have no words of my own. Your life is a testimony of the presence of God alive in a beautiful human heart. You are loved. You are prayed for. You are wrapped in arms far-reaching. I pray you all feel the Father’s holy hug.

    How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news,
    who proclaim peace, who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation,
    who say to Zion, “Your God reigns!” (Is 52:7) Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted. (Matt 15:4) May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. (Rom 15:13)

    Like

    Reply

  16. Bethany Johnson
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:24:24

    Lots of thoughts and prayers. No words right now.

    Love, Bethany Johnson Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  17. Linda and Dale
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:34:53

    So very sorry. Greg was a fine man and I was privileged to work with him. May God comfort

    Like

    Reply

  18. Dennis Pitts
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:41:21

    Sandra,
    Lisa and I are so sorry for your loss!!
    Words can’t explain how we feel right now.
    Please keep us posted.
    The peace of the lord be with you and your family.
    Dennis and Lisa
    (504) 235-3194

    Like

    Reply

  19. kddmyers
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:46:21

    My heart is so heavy for you Sandra. I am praying for you, crying for you, rejoicing with you for Greg’s eternal healing but so very sad for your loss. Your faith is a testimony to the power of God’s love in your life. He cares for you. He is still faithful and He is still good. We love you and lift you up to Him for comfort, strength, and rest.

    Like

    Reply

  20. Jeff and Pam Ansel
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:46:25

    Sandra, you all are in and will continue to be in our prayers. Heartfelt hugs to you all. Love, the Ansels

    Like

    Reply

  21. Bruce Ketola
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 07:54:11

    Sandra: We pray for peace and comfort for you and your children during this challenging time. Greg’s faith walk at work has been awesome/tremendous What a man of God he was to all of us. God Bless! Bruce

    Like

    Reply

  22. Norma Jacobson
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 08:29:42

    Sandra, we have been and will continue to pray for you and your dear family. We grieve with you and will pray for our merciful Lord to hold you up with His everlasting arms. Earl and Norma

    Like

    Reply

  23. Shelley
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 08:32:04

    Sweet Friend, I’m praying for God’s deep peace to surpass your ability to comprehend it just as the God promised. May it overwhelm you & your family. I cannot imagine the number of people that Greg, you, & your family have pointed to Christ. I know lives are differnt for eternity as a result of this earthly tragedy. I love you sister.

    Like

    Reply

  24. Alicia Strickland
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 08:44:45

    Praying God’s peace, comfort and rest for you all. You and all of your family have been such a light for the Lord throughout this Journey Sandra, thank you! We have thanked the Lord for your family. We will continue to pray and lift your family up as the journey continues in this season of your life. Your beautiful smile comes to mind more than you know. Praying, my friend that you feel all the love and that all of you continue to feel the love.

    Like

    Reply

  25. Carole Peek
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 09:36:46

    Sweet Sandra, Jeff and I are so sorry about Greg. We are rejoicing in the fact that he is with his Savoir and is no longer in pain. Please know that Jeff and I are in constant prayer for you and the children. We will always be here for you! I again want to thank you for your inspiration. There have been so many days that while taking care of my mom, I would really be struggling. Then I would read you blog and say to myself “I’m going to be like Sandra today!” You are an amazing woman of God and I’m so blessed to know you. Love to you all!

    Like

    Reply

  26. Dorcas
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 09:55:22

    My heart hurts for your loss. Your posts about your journey have been a blessing to our family. We are praying!

    Like

    Reply

  27. Denise Savely
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 09:56:57

    Sandra, your constant faith is so inspiring. Thank you for sharing your journey. Your family will be in our thoughts and prayers for the coming days, weeks and months. Much love to you and your family in this very difficult time.

    Like

    Reply

  28. Teri
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 10:03:33

    God is so evident in your life, Sandra. We are praying for you and your family during this time. May God give you continued grace and strength to face the days ahead. He is with you always!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  29. Faye
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 10:27:46

    Sandra… My heart goes out to you and the kids. I am so very grateful that Greg did not have to suffer any longer than he did, though I am sure it was hard to let him go. I can only imagine the road ahead, but I know our faithful and good God will sustain you and be a husband to you and a father to your children until you see Greg again. All of you will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. Much love, Faye

    Like

    Reply

  30. Doreen Buben
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 10:36:42

    Sandra,
    So sorry about Greg. My heart goes out to you and your children at this difficult time in your life. I will pray for God’s comfort and healing to be so real to you in the days ahead. Just remember that Greg is much better off now because to die is “gain.” I know God will take care of you and your family because He loves you and He is faithful. May you rest in the shelter of the Most High God!

    Like

    Reply

  31. Dana Rilling
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 11:53:39

    I am heartbroken and sad as I think of my wonderful childhood memories growing up with Greg and as I think of your precious family. Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob I am so sorry for the loss of your wonderful husband and father. Sandra your were an amazing wife and friend to Greg, you were both so blessed to have each other. I pray for comfort, strength and peace for all of you. We love you all.

    Like

    Reply

  32. Joyce
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 11:56:38

    Joyce
    Sandra, Bill and I are so sorry to learn of Greg’s passage from this life but so thankful he is with our Lord and no longer in discomfort. You have been an inspiration with your strength, courage, and love. You, the kids, and Greg’s family will remain in our thoughts and prayers. Love you!

    Like

    Reply

  33. Ike Copper
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 12:11:34

    Sandra, I am so heartbroken and saddened. I know that Greg has now been healed and he is experiencing beauty that is unimaginable. He has crossed the finish line with total success. He, you and all of your family are such shining Christian examples. I know, you know, we all know that Greg is no longer hurting and is with the Lord but I am just so sorry that he is no longer here with us. Our deepest sympathies and condolences go to all of you.

    Like

    Reply

  34. Linda Sewell
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 15:00:04

    Sandra,
    I am so sorry for you and the children. I am praying for comfort and peace as you grieve the loss of your precious one. Many are lifting you up to the Father right now. We love you.

    Like

    Reply

  35. Karla Lail
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 15:51:20

    Sandra, I am so sorry. I am praying for God’s peace on your family. Your posts have been such an inspiration and challenge to me. Thanks for the privilege of praying for your family through this hard time. It has changed the way I pray and deepened my walk with Jesus.

    Like

    Reply

  36. Caleb Stanley
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 17:55:01

    Your testimony speaks so powerfully. Praying for strength.

    Like

    Reply

  37. Cindy Smith
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 18:11:02

    So sorry to hear about Greg. He is truly at peace now. My thoughts and prayers are with you all. Love you.

    Like

    Reply

  38. Carol Moore
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 22:15:07

    Sandra, I am so sorry to hear of the passing of your soul mate. I pray that the Lord send you his love and comfort and grants you peace during this time. Please know that we are praying for you and your family.

    Like

    Reply

  39. Melynda Baldwin
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 12:08:55

    I’m so sorry to hear about Greg. I know he was a fighter and fought a tough battle. Praying that God will keep you and your family wrapped in his loving arms giving you comfort and peace. Much love, sweet friend!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

