He Is Enough

As I get ready to start another difficult day of sadness, aloneness, “lostness”, and widowness; as I get ready to start another day full of making decisions about things I never imagined having to make decisions about, I sit down to read my devotion for today and this is what My God says to my heart:

“I am Immanuel – God with you – and I am enough! When things in your life are flowing smoothly, it is easy to trust in My sufficiency. However, when you encounter rough patches – one after another after another – you may sometimes feel that My provision is inadequate. This is when your mind tends to go into high gear: obsessing about ways to make things better. There is nothing wrong with seeking solutions, but problem-solving can turn into an addiction: your mind spinning with so many plans and possibilities that you become confused and exhausted. To protect yourself from this mental exhaustion, you need to remind yourself that I am with you always, taking care of you. It is possible to rejoice in Me – to proclaim My sufficiency – even during the most difficult times. This is a supernatural work, empowered by My Spirit who lives in you. It is also a decision that you make – day by day and moment by moment. Choose to be joyful in Me, your Savior, for I am indeed enough!”

Our hearts are broken, our family is forever changed, I am only half the person I used to be, and we will continue to weep and grieve for the man who meant so very much to us. We will continue to question and wonder and not be able to understand why this happened to our family, BUT……we will continue to cling to the promise that HE IS ENOUGH! HE is enough for me. HE is enough for Katie. HE is enough for Emilie. HE is enough for Jacob. HE IS ENOUGH!

But he said to me, “My grace is enough for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” So then, I will boast most gladly about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may reside in me. 2 Cor 12:9

A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling. Psalm 68:5

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bethany Johnson
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 08:33:23

    Amen. Thank you for blessing me when I should be the one blessing you. Jesus continues shine through you even now in your darkest hour.

    Much love and prayers,

    Bethany Johnson Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jennifer Switzer
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 08:47:18

    Love to you all.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kathleen Dooley
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 08:49:32

    Really no words can add to this, except to know that we love you and are holding you up in prayer as you walk through this unbelievably difficult time. What devotion is this?

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan Dell
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 08:53:33

    I’ve been meditating on that verse from Corinthians the last two days… I almost sent it to you last night. 🙂 It’s a good promise… His grace is enough! Thank you for reminding us. Praying for you!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Alicia Strickland
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:00:15

    Sandra, there are not words, we are praying for all of you. Each member of your family has been such a light for the Lord through this season. That alone is such a testimony, to what an awesome husband and father you all were blessed with. Thank you as always for reminding each of us “His grace is enough”. Please know you are in our thoughts and prayers and that we will do anything we can for you all.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Gina Ramsey
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:05:03

    Once again, Sandra, even in this time of terrible sorrow, you are lifting the rest of us up. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Christi McCully
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:07:12

    God bless you Sandra, and your family. We love you.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Andrea and the kids
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:11:04

    Sandra, we’ve been watching and praying from afar. Alicia is right when she says there are no words. We’ve just been praying for strength, peace, wisdom, comfort. We love you guys.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Aunt Cricket
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:15:19

    I am amazed at what a strong woman you are and your strength in the Lord. Reading this morning the scriptures In Psalm 34-18 and and Corinthians 1 3-4. Know that I am praying for you and the children. Love, Aunt Cricket

    Like

    Reply

  10. Claudia Voigt
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 09:25:44

    Sandra, thank you again for sharing your heart with us. I can only imagine the sense of loneliness and loss you are feeling right now. You are right – HE is enough! He is the our Healer, Messiah, Redeemer and Lord. Our God on the mountain top is the same God in the valley. I am in continual prayers for you and your precious family.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Danielle McKenzie
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:04:07

    Sweet Sandra, we are praying for you through out the day. I remember Dr. Stanley said sometimes we just need to let the praise come out of our mouth and then the feeling in our heart will follow by the power of the Holy Spirit. So I’m thanking God and praising His name for you that He is and will be your enough. Thank you for letting Christ shine in this dark hour.
    Love to you and the children!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Teri Mccurry
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:11:33

    I needed this today as well. My heart breaks for you and your children. The verse you quoted about God being all we need rings true in my heart when I think of you all.
    As we say good bye to my husband next week when he goes to his new job up in PA, I think of you. We are sad because we can’t go right now and will only see him every other weekend. Then I think of what you are going through and my heart goes out to you!
    God bless you and keep you and I pray you will cling fast to the truths of His word that he is always there and will never forsake you!
    We are here if you need anything!
    His love never changes! Teri Mccurry

    Like

    Reply

    • Teri Mccurry
      Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:13:31

      I just had to add…. The song that just touches every part if me:
      I need Thee O I need Thee, every hour I need Thee!
      My one request my righteousness o God how I need Thee

      Like

      Reply

  13. Kim
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:16:37

    Sandra, you have been a rock and a strong tower during this difficult past year. Through every post of Greg’s journey we have never seen you blame or accuse God for allowing this to happen to your family. Thank you for sharing and showing Christ in the kind of wife & mother you have been during the most difficult time of your life.
    “The Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away, blessed be the name of The Lord.” Job 1:21

    Like

    Reply

  14. Norm & Christy
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:18:43

    Love you guys. We are praying for you.

    Like

    Reply

  15. johnorr0723
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:29:29

    Love when God’s Word becomes incarnate in real life!

    Praying for you all.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Beth Davidson
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:44:59

    The Lord has been speaking that truth into my heart for you as I’ve been praying over your family. I LOVE OUR GOD!! He is so amazing. In the depth of your sadness, I pray that He continues to speak that truth to you in as clear a voice as He has today.

    Like

    Reply

  17. Jeff Peek
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 10:45:52

    A strong lady you are, many prayers go up to the Father on your families behave. Greg is hanging out with Jesus right now! How great he must feel. Thank you for sharing with all us.

    Like

    Reply

  18. Cherie Maurer
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 11:00:14

    Praise the LORD…we hope in HIM alone. Apart from HIM we would be hopeless!!!! Praying for you so very often…love you so very much!!! We weep with you and we will rejoice with you.

    Like

    Reply

  19. Michael Young
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 11:57:36

    Though you may feel weak, God has given you tremendous power to impact his Kingdom and enhanced your testimony and ability to witness both through you and your family. Not in the way our earthly selves would have ever chosen, but that is how I know God is at work.

    Like

    Reply

  20. Linda Sewell
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 13:30:03

    Sandra, what timely words, “I am enough.” He will always be enough as you continue to let Him speak to your heart. I am thankful that you are listening to our Lord and depending on Him. We continue to pray for you and the kids.

    Like

    Reply

  21. Dorcas
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 13:34:04

    God is your strength. So thankful for a God who is always enough! Praying for you and your family…

    Like

    Reply

  22. Faye
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 15:09:01

    So glad that He is in your heart! Thinking about your family often and praying for you daily. You are all so precious!

    Like

    Reply

  23. Sherie Evans
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 15:47:54

    Praying as never before fir you, Katie, Emily & Jacob. I love you so

    Like

    Reply

  24. Karen
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 16:38:06

    So grateful for His Word! Continuing to lift you up!

    Like

    Reply

  25. Lisa Masters
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 17:32:49

    Sandra,

    My heart aches for you and the kids. And yet through your pain, your faith and strength shine through to encourage and comfort others. You are a special person and a wonderful Christian example. My love, prayers and deepest sympathy are with you, Katie, Emilie and Jacob.

    Like

    Reply

  26. Mary Leslie
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:02:30

    You leave me completely speechless!! You are the picture of true faith!!

    Like

    Reply

  27. susangbarber
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:03:55

    Praying 2nd Corinthians 12:9 and Psalm 68:5 over you, Katie, Emilie, and Jacob. May God continue to show His faithfulness to you in this darkest time.

    Like

    Reply

  28. Laura
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 20:52:18

    Humbled and uplifted, heavy-hearted and yet hopeful, all at the same time~your blogs have delivered beautifully what needed to be said. Thank you for sharing this journey. You all are so loved and will continue to be in our prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  29. celeste
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 21:47:22

    We are praying for you and the kids. May God continue to speak to you, comfort you,, uphold you, give you strength to do the things you need to do, and give you hope. I have been praying the words to the hymn “Be Still My Soul” for you all. Some lines that go over and over in my head as I pray for you are, “Be still my soul. Thy God doth undertake to guide the future as He has the past. Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake. Be still my soul, the Lord is on thy side.” May your soul find rest, Sandra, in the truths of the Word that you cling to. And may your kids draw from your strength and hope and faith and experience peace in the midst of this dark time. We love you.

    Like

    Reply

  30. laurie
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 23:43:44

    “I will give you treasures from dark, secret places; then you will know that I am The Lord and that the God of Israel has called you by name.” Isaiah 45:3
    Praying that God continues to reveal His treasures to you, Katie, Emilie, and Jake during this time, and that you hear Him as He calls your name and speaks peace and healing to your heart. You are a blessed and faithful woman Sandra Masters! I love you!

    Like

    Reply

  31. sonya
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 07:04:58

    Sandra, what a beautiful word from our Lord. Praying each day that God will comfort your heart as only he can. Thank you Sandra for being a blessing to all of us in the mist of your pain. What a testimony of his complreteness with him and incompleteness without hiim! Daily We are lifting you, Katie, Jacob, and Emilie to The Lord. I love you guys

    Like

    Reply

  32. Trackback: Such an inspiration…
  33. cindy mckibbin
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 08:38:42

    Dear Sandra, We have been and continue to pray for you and your precious children. What an amazing testimony of God’s faithfulness you have been to all who have watched you walk this dark road . Praise God, He is enough, He is faithful through the storms, He is there to carry us through. His strength is perfect when our strength is gone, He’ll carry us when we can’t carry on. Let Him continue to carry you as we pray for comfort, peace ,and wisdom. My heart breaks for you and your family.We love you.

    Like

    Reply

  34. kddmyers
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 15:51:39

    That is beautiful and powerful, Sandra… God’s Word fully active in your life. Thank you again for sharing your heart and allowing us to see Him work in you as you continue to trust in Him.

    Like

    Reply

  35. Lorene Baughman
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 21:20:46

    Praying for you and your family that you will feel the comfort from those that love you.

    Like

    Reply

  36. Faye Nicholson
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 12:01:29

    What a beautiful celebration of Greg’s life on Saturday! My family was so encouraged in our own lives to be better parents, friends, and faithful servants. Greg’s life is still touching souls for Christ! Thank you, Sandra, for sharing your heart these many months. It has meant so much to me! I will continue to lift your family up to the One who sustains and gives hope. You seem to have been blessed with an extended family who loves the Lord and is filled with laughter. I am glad it is so!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

