Overwhelmed And Humbled

Words can not adequately express how overwhelmed and humbled we were by the amount of people that came out to honor Greg on Friday night and Saturday afternoon. What an amazing tribute to the man that we called husband/father. The kids and I knew what a great man Greg was because we lived with him. But what a privilege to hear others speak the same things about him. We just want to say thank you to everyone that came out and stood in line Friday evening to speak to us and to honor Greg. We heard that some of you stood in line for TWO hours….how very humbling. We also heard that some of you had to leave without getting to speak to us. I’m sorry that we didn’t get to see you, but please know how much we appreciate your thoughtfulness in being there. I also know that there were many of you at the funeral that we didn’t have the chance to speak to, but again, please know how much it meant to us for you to be there.

Some of you have mentioned that you wished you could have been at the funeral and heard the tributes that the kids and I wrote about Greg. I will try to post copies of these on my blog in the near future. I also know that many of you still don’t know all of the details that transpired over that weekend in the hospital and how everything progressed so quickly, and are wondering what happened. I will post about that later, as well.

For now, I just wanted to let you all know how much each of you has meant to our family over the past two years of this journey. Your prayers, concern and care for our family is what has sustained us. Please continue to pray for our family. Greg’s journey here has ended, but the journey continues for myself, Katie, Emilie and Jacob. We remain here for a reason; there is a purpose for our current situation. “Your plans are still to prosper, You have not forgotten us. You’re with us in the fire and the flood. Faithful forever, perfect in love. You are Sovereign over us.” These are some of the lyrics to one of the songs that was sung at Greg’s homegoing celebration. (You should listen to the whole song, if you get the chance!) We don’t claim to understand why this has happened to our family, we don’t claim to understand how any good can come of this, and we don’t claim to like where we are at right now…but we do claim to know the God who has a plan that we can trust, and we will continue to claim that He is faithful and He is good!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia Voigt
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 21:04:48

    You continue to be an inspiration to all of us. of what it is like to truly be Christ-like. prayers are going out for you and your precious family daily from us in oklahoma.
    I would love to have your address sometime to send some cards of encouragement.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Gina Ramsey
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 21:45:13

    Thank you for taking such good care of Greg. We love you and the kids and pray for you continuously. I will be sending the kids some of my stories and memories of Greg soon. Thank you for having such a wonderful celebration for Greg to share with all of us who loved him.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 22:27:54

    The song “Sovereign Over Us” has been continually playing in my head since last Friday; I had never heard it before then. I love the truth and message in this song, and when I find myself humming it several times a day am able to turn in into a prayer for your family.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cherie Maurer
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 22:41:28

    Dearest Sandra, as I was thinking about your family and the journey you have all been on I was struck by this thought…God chose Greg and you to give HIM glory in a way that many of us won’t have the opportunity to do…and I was reminded of the martyrs of the early church and even today…God chose them to glorify Himself in a greater way than others are able to do…but there is an eternal reward for them!!!! A reward that the rest of us will not receive. God knew he could trust you both! Be encouraged!! Life here on earth is but a millisecond compared to the glories of eternity with our Lord and Savior! Always praying for grace, peace and strength for you with much love!

    Like

    Reply

  5. sonya
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 23:24:33

    Dear Sandra, It was an honor and privilege to be able to take part in the celebration of Greg’s life. It was a beautiful tribute to him! I am so blessed to have personally known him and to know all of you. Daily and sometimes hourly the Lord brings you guys to my heart, so i am lifting you to Him often. Thanks for sharing the song. I enjoyed each song that was chosen for the service, but could only remember one, so I downloaded that one on Saturday. I am glad to know another one. Thanks again for sharing your heart with us. You continue to be a blessing and inspiration!
    Love you guys!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Aunt Cricket
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 23:31:23

    Continuing to pray for you and your precious children. I am Still in awe of your strength and understanding. I can truly say that Greg’s homegoing celebration touched me in ways I will never forget. Know that I love you and if I can help in any way,it would be an honor.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Don & Mary Alice
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 06:15:40

    Sandra we want you to know we are praying for you and your children each day. Thank you so much for letting us hear from you.

    Like

    Reply

  8. Faye
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 07:15:31

    Your precious family is continually in my thoughts and prayers. Joshua is ready for Jacob to come up and visit anytime. Wanted him to come before Christmas. I told him it’d be best to wait until after the holidays. He really cares about Jacob very much!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Carole
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 18:57:32

    Love you.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

