Jacob’s Tribute To His Dad

Many of you have expressed that you were sorry that you weren’t able to attend Greg’s life celebration service, and that you wished you were able to hear the tributes that my children and I wrote that were read during the service. With my children’s permission, we have decided to post these tributes here. This is Jacob’s tribute to his Dad.

.975

My dad was a great man and a great dad. I could stop right there but I just have to say more. He was always there for my everything. I looked and figured it out, and out of the 80 baseball games and the 3 tennis matches that I have played, he has missed 2. So since me and Dad loved baseball a lot I will put it in perspective, that is a .975 Batting average. If anybody hit that in the major leagues then that man would be picked up by the best team that there was. In other words its like making a 98% on a test, but me and I think Dad would like the batting average example better. Not every dad could say that he had been to every one of his sons sporting events except for 2 of them. I hope the same can be said about me when I have a son. One time Dad was on his way from work and it was going to be my first game that I was going to pitch and Dad really wanted to be there. So on the way home there was a wreck right in front of the union city exit and dad really wanted to be there for me. So when he saw the wreck it was too late to go up the ramp, and he was very frustrated. He really, really (!!!!!!!) wanted to be there. So what he did next surprised even me. My Dad the safe driver that drives at least 10 mph under the speed limit proceeds to drive up the ramp that you use to come onto the freeway. He came the wrong way!!!!! Right when he finished doing that a police officer came and sat right where Dad had just come from so no one could do that, and Dad got away with no ticket. He was just showing me that he loved me enough to do anything for me, even break the law. He just told me this story about 2 weeks ago and told me to never do that when I drive or else I wouldn’t be driving. Another funny memory is when he broke my neighbors window while we were playing baseball in the backyard. He was hitting and I was pitching and I threw him one and he hit it hard. Me and Dad just sat and watched it sail over the back yard fence, and waited for the big crash. Then, the window on her storage garage shattered. Me and Dad just looked at each other for a minute. Then the law got us, (pause) Mom walked out. Then she said “what the heck did y’all do!!!!!” So that’s when Me and Dad decided to walk over to Our neighbors house to tell her what just happened to one of her windows. But our neighbor was very nice and understanding and said that it was fine, and that she had sons too. So me and Dad put some plastic over her window and went into the backyard and started to hit some tennis balls, NO MORE BASEBALLS IN THE BACKYARD. That was the rule from then on. Later on that same neighbor trusted us to take care of her lawn, not sure I would have done that but my neighbor is just awesome like that. Ever since we took the job of doing my neighbors yard Dad was very diligent in taking care of her yard even when he felt terrible. He showed me through this that, as a man you need to uphold your commitments no matter the circumstances, and my Dad certainly did. My Dad has been the best example ever to me and other people of how to be a Godly man and husband. Somebody has already told me that when his son is older he hopes his son can say all that I am saying about dad. That really meant a lot to me and I know that all dads are not good examples of how to live life or of how to be a good man or a good husband, but mine was, period!!!!!!!!! Nobody can tell me different and nobody can change my mind!!!!!!! I know that I am going to miss my Dad so much over the time span of, well the rest of my life. I guess you never really stop missing anybody, but I would have rather spent this 14 years with my Dad than my whole life with another dad. I would like to say two more things even though I could go on forever. Number 1… well done Dad, well done. You have done all that you have been created and called to do and so it was time for you to go, but well done Dad, well Done. And number 2, many people say December 7 is a day that will live in infamy. Or that we will never forget September 11. But for all those gathered in this room here today, I know they would all say that we will never forget a day that will forever live in infamy, October 20, 2013. It is a day that will forever live in our hearts. Even though it is painful to remember I hope I never forget that day. The day I Watched my Dad go to his eternal home and eternal happiness. He always said he was ready for his new body and now he has reached the point were he could claim that new body and he did and is now rejoicing with God in heaven. He is waiting for me to come party with him all day and all night on the streets of gold, and I can’t wait to be there with my Dad, for all eternity!!!!!!!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudia Voigt
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:39:07

    This is so precious!!! Thank you for opening your hearts and letting me know Greg a little better. What a testimony to his life well lived!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Gina Ramsey
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 14:47:36

    Jacob you are a good son. You have done your Dad proud.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Diane
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 17:28:41

    Crying again as I read this. . . so honest, so sincere, so true. Well done, Jake. Your dad would be proud of you.

    Like

    Reply

  4. kddmyers
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 19:55:17

    Jacob, you have done an awesome job of honoring your dad. I would have to agree with you and say of your dad, “Well done!” because he and your mom have raised great kids who love the Lord.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Bethany Johnson
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 22:26:26

    Thank you for always sharing from your heart! You are in my thoughts and prayers so often if I called or texted every time, you’d be getting sick of me! We are praying for you often as you grieve, live, and keep standing on the Rock of our salvation.

    Love you! Bethany

    Like

    Reply

  6. gdireneoe
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:31:15

    Jacob, what an awesome way to honor your daddy. You are a very insightful young man. EXCELLENT analogy about .975! God got a star player in your daddy, for SURE! Guess what else He got? The perfect Head Coach for you and your sisters, and His Assistant Coach (your mom!). He made you guys an unbeatable team before he was “picked up” by an other league…THE Big League. Well done to your daddy, indeed. And, well done to you, as well, young man. Well done!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

