Emilie’s Tribute To Her Dad

This is Emilie’s tribute to her Dad that was read during his Life Celebration service.

Words cannot even begin to express all that my daddy was to me. Everything I am today, is because of the Godly way in which my daddy led my mama and our entire family. I’ve never had to wonder if my daddy loved me or if he was proud of me. He never failed to tell me. He might have been too sick to stand up and hug me and in too much pain to really carry on a conversation with me, but every night before I went to bed he would tell me he loved me. He always wanted to spend time with me, he always wanted to know how I was doing. My daddy cared for me in ways that I can’t even begin to explain. I can say with confidence that my daddy was the best daddy ever. Like my mama said, “He wasn’t perfect. Nobody is perfect. But he was perfect for us.” He always put God first, then me and my family, and then others. Daddy always wanted to be out doing stuff for other people, and recently it had killed him to be sitting in his recliner while our neighbor was out cutting our grass. He hated to feel like he couldn’t do things for himself, and he was stubborn. He never liked to ask for help. My daddy was independent and thought his way was the best way, but if we really, really wanted something, most times we got it. Everyone who knows my daddy, knows that he was all about laughter. He couldn’t stand for me to be in a bad mood or upset and he would always make jokes and be goofy just to lighten things up for us all. He made up crazy names for everyone and everything and said the same silly sayings over and over and over again. He loved to pull pranks on people, and was never happier than when he had tricked someone or snuck up behind someone and scared them. My daddy taught me all about diversity in music. He taught me to appreciate the Beatles, Van Morrison, Elvis, Trisha Yearwood, Eric Clapton, the Allman Brothers, Hal Ketchum, Merle Haggard, Stevie Ray Vaughn and many, many others. We even threw a little Christian music in there sometimes ha. I’m going to miss riding down the road listening to music with him. Daddy loved to talk to people and have a good time with family and friends. He took care of me and my family no matter what, and served us however he possibly could. I’m going to have to learn a lot of things now that my daddy is gone. He spoiled me by taking care of everything for me. My daddy was the best example of what I should look for in a Godly husband. The way he loved and served my mama faithfully, speaks more of him than any words ever could. He took care of my mama from the very biggest of things to the smallest, and he did so willingly and with love for Mama in his heart. My future husband has impossibly big shoes to fill because I cannot even begin to imagine a greater man than my daddy. Of all the things my daddy did though, the most important is how he showed me what it meant to live a life worthy of the calling he had received. My daddy was a whole hearted follower of Jesus Christ. Everything he did, he did in a way that gave glory to God. He fought his battle with cancer for me and my family, and he never once complained. When he first found out he had been diagnosed with melanoma and he was talking to all of us about it, he said “The bigger the obstacle, the bigger the opportunity” and I believe that he walked this journey in that mindset. We all asked why, and we all questioned God through all of this, but one of the most impactful statements that my daddy made was, “It is a privilege to be walking this road. Lots of people say that they trust God and put their faith in Him no matter what, but not many people actually get the chance to live it out like we are all able to.” Throughout his fight, my daddy clung to Christ and trusted in His sovereignty. I have never known a more amazing man. I am so thankful that God chose this man to be my daddy. He was definitely a blessing to me. I only knew him for 18 short years, but those years were full of love and I have many memories to hold on to. I’m going to miss my daddy greatly, and that doesn’t even begin to come close to describing the pain that I have felt from losing him. However, my daddy used to always talk about how he was ready for his new body that was waiting for him in heaven. While I may be worse off than I have ever been, I rejoice in the fact that my daddy is better off than he has ever been before and that he has his new body and is now worshiping at the throne of Jesus. Daddy, thank you for fighting for me for 2 long years. The love you have for me, as if it wasn’t already known, was evident in the way you struggled through the pain for me for such a long time. I will never be able to thank you enough for all you have done for me and been for me. Let it never be said that you lost the battle with cancer. You fought it for us, and you have the victory through Christ. You have your new body now that you’ve been longing for, and no more hospital visits and sickness or pain. You showed me what an amazing husband looks like, and you loved me the way only the best daddy ever could. Words will never be able express how much you mean to me, nor how much I am going to miss you. I’m going to miss waking up in the morning and walking into the kitchen and wrapping my arms around you, I’m going to miss your corny jokes, your homemade biscuits and gravy, you listening to all sorts of random music with me, your “I’m proud of you’s” and your “I love yous”, your hugs, and your laugh. I already can’t wait to see you again. I love you bunches and bunches Daddy. I’ll always be your baby girl.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Ramsey
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 17:56:16

    Emilie, your Dad will always be with you, and you will always have the comfort of knowing how much he loves you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Cathy Goddard
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 21:41:14

    absolutely amazing…

    Like

    Reply

  3. Valerie Martin
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:54:04

    Beautiful tribute!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Karla Lail
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:32:22

    What a precious gift to have had a daddy that loved you like that! Thank you for sharing, Emilie.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Claudia Voigt
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 13:51:47

    Emilie, thank you for sharing your heart with us about your wonderful daddy! I feel that I know him so much better now and am amazed at so many things you shared. Your daddy was so brave; melanoma is so mean. you’ve seen the VERY BEST in a man and a husband – and never, never “settle” for anything less for yourself in a future soul mate. Cling to the Lord and each other every day, Jesus wants to be your daddy now and wants to heal your wounds.
    Much love from another melanoma warrior, Claudia in Oklahoma

    Like

    Reply

  6. kddmyers
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:56:29

    Emilie, what a sweet and beautiful tribute to your daddy. It is so obvious the love he had for you and your family, and the love you have for him as well. How precious that you have so many wonderful memories of him and that he gave you such a godly example of a daddy and husband. Praying for you and your family, with love, Kelly

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

