My Tribute To Greg

This is the tribute that I wrote to Greg that was read during his Celebration of Life service.

I am a blessed woman! The Lord has allowed me to spend the last 31 years of my life with an amazing man. Greg and I started dating when I was 17 years old. We dated for four years and were married on Sept. 27, 1986. This past September we celebrated our 27th anniversary. After all this time together, there are many things that I have learned about Greg Masters.

Greg had a great sense of humor and he loved to laugh. He was almost always smiling and he loved playing jokes on people. He never took himself too seriously, and wasn’t afraid of acting goofy. He truly was the laughter in our home.

Greg was slow……slow to make decisions, slow to commit, slow to complete a project……he was even a slow driver! Sometimes his slowness would drive me crazy, but because of his slowness, his decisions were sound and well-thought out, he was faithful to the commitments that he made, every project that he undertook was done with excellence, and….. he never got a speeding ticket!

Greg was authentic. He was the same person at work as he was at home. He was the same person at home as he was at church. He was the same person at church as he was at a family gathering. He was the same person at a family gathering as he was in our neighborhood. What you saw, was what you got with Greg. He was real.

Greg loved music. He appreciated all types of music. He enjoyed listening to music, watching music and playing music. He loved leading others in worshiping our God through music.

Greg always put the needs or preferences of others ahead of his own. His main love language was “acts of service” and he loved serving others. This was certainly true in our relationship…..he was always serving me in one way or another. In the last few weeks of treatment, Greg had gotten increasingly weaker. One of the things that he hated the most was that he could not be up serving me (and others). He would often say, “Okay, it’s my turn to start doing for you now.” He was a man with a servant’s heart.

Greg was meticulous and purposeful. Just one look at our closet could tell you that. His side is neat and organized….everything arranged in a logical order. My side, on the other hand is arranged using the “wherever I can cram it in” method. Everything that he did was done a certain way, and of course, his way was the right way. He wasn’t forceful with his opinions of how to do things, but he was alway willing to share a “better way” of doing something!

Greg was a faithful friend. He wasn’t a big social person….mostly he just wanted to be at home with me and the kids. But, if Greg was your friend, you knew that you could count on him to do anything for you.

Greg was a loyal and dependable employee. He very rarely missed a day of work. And if he was too sick to go in, he worked from home. Even when we went to Houston for appointments, treatments, or even admissions to the hospital, he took his computer so that he could work remotely. He represented Delta Airlines with honesty and integrity as he worked alongside other companies. From what I’ve been told, he was more than a coworker, he was also a friend. He was genuinely interested in the lives of those that he worked with. He prayed for many of them on a regular basis…..for their health, for the health of their children, for their marriages, for their relationships with Christ.

Greg loved family….his and mine. He loved all of the family get togethers….. the visiting, the laughing, the joking, the card playing, and the eating.

Greg loved his kids. Anyone that spent any time with Greg, knew how important his children were to him. Katie, Emilie and Jacob never had to wonder if their Dad loved them. He told them all the time how much he loved them and how proud he was of them. But, he didn’t just tell them, he also showed them. He loved them by being intentional about spending time with them, together and individually. He loved them by disciplining them….even though it broke his heart to do so. He loved them by providing for them. They might not have always gotten exactly what they wanted, exactly when they wanted it, but they always were well-provided for. He loved them by showing them how to handle their finances…..how to save, how to give, how to be responsible. He loved them by praying for them. He was diligent about praying for every part of their lives. He loved them by being a role model for them. Katie and Emilie saw first hand how a real man should treat a woman. They saw first-hand what a Godly husband looks like and learned what qualities they should look for in their future husbands. Jacob saw first-hand what it means to be a Godly man, husband and father. He loved them by discipling them, and he discipled not just through his words, but also through his actions. He didn’t just say it….he lived it.

Greg loved me. Never once have I questioned his love or faithfulness to me. And as with the kids, he didn’t just tell me that he loved me, he showed me. He not only loved me, but he also appreciated me, and he often told me that. He has been so many things to me over these years….my husband, my best friend, my protector, my spiritual leader, my first kiss, my provider, my secret-keeper, my encourager, my partner, my security, my laughter, my caretaker, the love of my life, my other half. Before we were married, we were two separate individuals. The day we said “I do”, we became one. And on October 20, 2013, I became one half. My heart is so sad today because part of me is gone. I will miss Greg like crazy. We had so many plans for our future. Plans for being empty-nesters together and being grandparents together. It doesn’t seem right, it doesn’t seem fair. It seems too short. But I would much rather have had 31 short years with Greg Masters than 75+ years with anyone else.

Greg loved his God. He loved reading and studying the Word. His life was about living out the Gospel. He wasn’t preachy or pushy, but anyone who spent any time with him knew what he believed…they knew it because of the way he lived his life. On October 20, Greg received that new body that he had been longing for. On that day he saw his Jesus face to face. Before he left his earthly home, we gathered around him and said to him, “Well done, Greg Masters. You have finished the race and completed the course set before you. You have been a good man. You have been a good husband. You have been a good Daddy. You have been a good son and brother. You have been a good uncle. You have been a good friend. We will miss you, but Praise God we will see you again!” We were with him as he passed from here to eternity. And I know that as he entered his heavenly home, he heard the words again…. “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Greg battled the ugly disease called melanoma for two years and on October 20, he won that battle. We were not surprised by the outcome….we are told that as believers we are more than conquerors. We are the victors through Christ Jesus our Lord. I will never forget the words that Greg shared with me and the kids when we first learned of his diagnosis. He said, “You know, this is really a privilege for us. Not many people get to really live out what they say they believe.” I can say without a doubt that Greg lived out what he said he believed.
Greg wasn’t a perfect man, but he was perfect for me. The Word tells us that every good and perfect gift is from above, and I thank God for the perfect gift that he gave to me in Greg Masters. I am a blessed woman!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. celeste
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 23:55:03

    I am praying for you, Sandra. Throughout the days I think of you and pray for you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Claudia Voigt
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 13:30:32

    What a testimony! Praise God for Greg’s life! I can only imagine how much you miss him – your life mate. I pray for you and your family daily.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Gina Ramsey
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 16:16:03

    You were both blessed with each other Sandra. I am so glad that you both realized how blessed you were! I think of you and the kids everyday. You are all in my prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Melanie McBride
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 12:04:46

    You all remain in our prayers, Sandra, Katie, Emilie, and Jacob. We pray God’s peace, comfort, and joy for you, particularly as you enter the holidays. We pray your memories will make you smile and that God will strengthen you for all the days ahead. Thank you so very much for sharing this with us. You blessed us greatly.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

