Watching For Him Who Is Enough

The title of this post is the title of a devotion from Ann Voskamp’s book, The Greatest Gift. This is actually the devotion from a couple of days ago (I’m a little behind), but the Lord knew I needed to read it today! I would like to share a portion of it with you. I know that I am not the only one struggling in my life right now, an I pray that these words bless and encourage you as they have me!

I trembled inside when I heard this;
my lips quivered with fear.
My legs gave way beneath me
and I shook in terror.
I will wait quietly for the coming day
when disaster will strike the people who invade us.
Even though the fig trees have no blossoms,
and there are no grapes on the vines;
even though the olive crop fails,
and the fields lie empty and barren;
even though the flocks die in the fields,
and the cattle barns are empty,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord!
I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!
The Sovereign Lord is my strength!
He makes me as surefooted as a deer,
able to tread upon the heights.
Habakkuk 3:16-19

“Olives fail. People fail. Dreams fail. You feel like you fail. A thousand things mount. Some days it’s hard not to panic. You can feel it – we are driven be fear of failure. For all our frenzied running around, could it be that we are actually fleeing – trying to escape all the fears? All this pain? All this failure? We all live these lives of quiet terror. Of soundless, hidden grief. You could just bow your head in the quiet and weep for all that isn’t. For all that you aren’t.

In the barrenness of winter, Habakkuk offers this gift to always carry close: rejoicing in the Lord happens while we still struggle in the now. Struggling and rejoicing are not two chronological steps, one following the other, but two concurrent movements, one fluid with the other.

As the cold can move you deeper toward the fire, struggling can move you deeper toward God, who warms you with joy. Struggling can deepen joy. Even though. Even now.

Even though the fig trees have no blossoms and though the Christmas tree aches a bit empty, even though there are no grapes on the vine and no struggle-free days, even though the olive crop fails, even though I fail, even though so much fails – even now I will rejoice in the Lord. Even now I will be joyful in the God of my salvation.

Even though, even now – Habakkuk turns the focus. The secret of joy is always a matter of focus: a resolute focusing on the Father, not on the fears. All fear is but the notion that God’s love ends. When does He ever end? When you can’t touch bottom is when you touch the depths of God.”

A good word for me today, and I hope for you too!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy Goddard
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 20:32:11

    Thanks Sandra. These set of verses spoke to me so much this week I wrote them in front of my daytimer and had started committing them to memory. I guess God really wanted to emphasize them to me as you posted them also. Yes, He is our joy!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

