Will You Be My Valentine?

Friday was a hard day for me….harder than I thought it would be. Valentines Day….a day to express love, a day for romance. For the last thirty years, I have spent that day with the man that I loved. Some of those days we spent at a restaurant, some days we enjoyed a dinner at home, some days there were gifts, or flowers, or candy or cards. Some of those days we celebrated as a couple and some days we celebrated as a family. But every one of those thirty Valentines Days…we were together. This year was different….he wasn’t here. It was a hard day.

But God, in His goodness still allowed me to express love and feel loved. I received cards and messages and texts from so many telling me that they were thinking about me and praying for me on this day. My sweet Katie drove up from school and surprised me with beautiful roses. I was in the bank and came out to find her standing by my car, flowers in hand. I was able to enjoy lunch with my three great loves…Katie, Emilie and Jacob. After lunch, Katie headed back to school and Emilie, Jake and I ended the evening by going to the movies and getting ice cream afterwards. He is good to me!

The Lord continued to remind me throughout the day that even though I feel lonely, I am never alone. Even when I don’t feel loved or special, I am loved by Him and I am special to Him. He loves me so much that He gave His only Son to pay the price for my sins. He loves me so much that I am inscribed on the palms of His hand. He loves me so much that He catches every tear that falls from my eye. He loves me so much that He will never leave me or forsake me. He loves me so much that He is preparing a place for me that I can live with Him for eternity. He loves me so much that He gives me the name Daughter of the Most High King. He loves me without conditions and He loves me without limit. He is the Lover of my soul. I can not even begin to fathom the height or depth or magnitude of His love for me! He really does love me and I’m SO glad that He is my True Valentine!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 07:45:24

    I woke up this morning randomly crying about Greg and then read your post. I wish there was something I could do or say to take away the loneliness and pain you feel, but I know I can’t do that. But there is One in heaven who can comfort us in hard times. I am so thankful for His love, His strength, and His Word. I miss Greg. I keep reminding myself that he is in God’s loving care, doing just fine, and that I WILL see him again! What a day that will be!!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Robin Pruett Odom
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 08:03:07

    Beautiful, Sandra – thank you for sharing your struggles with us – I love you!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Toni Saba
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 08:30:44

    But God…! I love this. In Paul’s letters he reminds us of who we were/are and always ends with but God…rich in mercy, etc. I love how our great God is tending to your heart. He knows you Sandra and is more than able to care for you , love you in the deepest most satisfying way. God is indeed good to bless you through the love of your precious, thoughtful children. So sweet!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cathy Goddard
    Feb 17, 2014 @ 09:18:49

    Thanks you, Sandra. It is important for us all to remember the Savior’s love. That no matter what heartache we are experiencing, His love is much, much greater.

    Like

    Reply

  5. kddmyers
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 09:16:15

    You are SO loved, Sandra! Thank you again for sharing your heart.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Amanda Kurz
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 11:09:20

    Thank you for your vulnerability to share the hard times with all of us and for always pointing to God as the source of your strength. He is certainly glorified and shown to others, including me, through your life.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Dorcas
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 19:31:37

    Beautiful words Sandra….you are such a blessing!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

