What Mercy! What Grace! What A Savior!!

Warning: This is a long post, but I promise you will be blessed if you read it all the way through!!

I have been so excited to share this post with you guys! I have just been waiting until I felt the time was right. Well, I think there could be no more appropriate time than this week….Holy Week. The week that we reflect on what Jesus did for us. That “Good Friday” when He willingly took on our sin, our wrongdoing and paid the debt that we owed by going to the cross. He was innocent, guiltless..yet He willingly paid the price. What mercy! What grace!

A couple of months ago, our family experienced that type of mercy and grace. It was such a beautiful, real-life picture to us of what Jesus did for us, albeit on a much smaller scale. On a wet, rainy afternoon in February, Emilie was driving to work. There was a car in front of her and a school bus in front of that car. The school bus stopped, the car in front of Emilie stopped, but Emilie did not stop quickly enough and ran into the back of the car in front of her. The man that was driving the car (I’ll refer to him as Mr. B) came back to check on Emilie and both of the vehicles. Praise the Lord that neither Mr. or Mrs. B was injured, and neither was Emilie. The damage to Emilie’s vehicle was fairly significant, but the damage to Mr. B’s car was thankfully, minimal. Mr. B saw that Emilie worked at Chick-fil-A (she was in uniform). He stated that he was taking his wife to a doctor’s appointment and that after the appointment, he would come by the store to talk to Emilie. He left for the appointment and Emilie drove on in to work. She called me from the parking lot to let me know what was going on. I told her that when the man came to talk to her that she should give him my phone number so that we could decide what needed to be done.

From the moment I got Emilie’s phone call, I began praying. First I thanked God that no one had been injured. I thanked Him that the school bus had not been involved. I thanked Him that the police had not been called; Emilie most certainly would have been ticketed. Then I began to pray about the phone call that I would soon be getting. I prayed that the Lord would be merciful and that the man that called would be kind and easy to talk to. I just didn’t think that my heart could take some irate person calling and screaming at me. I asked God, “Why did this have to happen when Greg isn’t here?” “Why so soon after his death, when my emotional state is so fragile?” “Why can’t Greg be here to handle this? He would know what to say. He would know what to do.” “Why this?” “Why now?” “Why me????”

Mr. B came by the store to meet with Emilie that evening. He asked her if her Dad was coming up to look at the cars. She told him that her Dad had passed away three months earlier. She gave him my phone number and later that evening Mr. B called me.

The Lord was gracious and Mr. B was very kind on the phone. We talked about the accident and he told me that he was planning to take his car in for an estimate and would bring it by the house in the next day or so. He also told me that he realized that he knew about our family and what we had been going through over the last several months. It turns out that his daughter and her family go to the same church as us and are friends of ours! She had mentioned to Mr. and Mrs. B what was going on with Greg and they had been praying for our family…..how cool it that!!

In a day or so, Mr. B stopped by our house to bring a copy of the estimate for the repairs to his car. The whole time I was standing outside talking to him, I just kept saying to myself, “What would Greg do? How would he handle this? Should I just agree to pay it? Should I ask for a second estimate for comparison. Should I file it with my insurance company?” Keep in mind, I know NOTHING about cars and what would be a reasonable cost for repairs. I asked Mr. B if he would be willing to get a second estimate for comparison. He really didn’t want to do that, as he had had work done in the past by this particular shop and really trusted their work, but he offered to pay half the cost himself. I told him that in no way did we expect for him to pay for any of it. We were responsible for the damage, and we would take care of it. I asked him if I could take some time to talk it over with my Dad and decide whether or not we would file with insurance. He said that would be fine and I told him that I would call him the next day with my decision.

After talking things over with Emilie and my Dad, we decided that it would be best just to pay for the damages and not file it with insurance. I called Mr. B to let him know our decision and to see if Emilie and I could drop a check by his home later that day. After I said this to Mr. B, this is the conversation that followed:

Mr. B: Well, I’ve been thinking about this and you know, you’re a widow now.
Me: Yes sir.
Mr. B: Well, the Bible tells me that as believers we are supposed to treat widows and orphans differently…we’re supposed to take care of them.
Me: Yes sir.
Mr. B: I believe that the Lord is telling me that I should just take care of all this myself.
Me: No sir! It wasn’t your fault, you shouldn’t have to pay anything. We accept full responsibility and we want to make it right.
Mr. B: I know that, but I really feel like this is what the Lord is telling me to do. And I know that I will be blessed for doing what he tells me to do.
Me: (I was sobbing at the point!) That is so very kind of you. Are you sure, I feel so bad about you having to pay for something that wasn’t your fault.
Mr. B: I’m sure. Y’all have been through a lot lately, so just let me take care of this.

After more tears and more thankyou’s, we hung up the phone. I just stood there stunned! I couldn’t believe that this man who had done nothing wrong, was willing to pay the debt for the wrong that we had done! He was willing to take complete responsibility! Do you see the grace and mercy that I’m talking about??? We certainly didn’t deserve this type of grace…we were at fault, for goodness sakes!

Isn’t that a beautiful picture of what Christ did for us?? We are sinners, separated from God and deserving of death. But Jesus…innocent, guiltless…willingly and lovingly took our sins, our wrongs upon Himself. If Mr. B hadn’t offered to pay our debt, Emilie and I could have paid Mr. B for the damage that we caused. We could have made things right. But our sin debt..we could NEVER pay that, we could NEVER make it right on our own. Jesus went to the cross on our behalf to pay that debt that we could never pay, and to make a way for us to have eternal life! Oh, what a Savior!!

The story doesn’t end here though. Emilie and I wrote letters to Mr. and Mrs. B to thank them once again for their kindness towards us. I closed my letter by telling them that I would be praying for them and asking the Lord to bless them for being such a blessing to us. About a week or so later, I received a voice mail from Mr. B. He asked me to call him back because he wanted to tell me something that he thought I should know. I must be honest and say that I was a little nervous about calling him back…had he changed his mind? Had he or his wife sustained an injury that was just now coming to light? I made the call and was MORE than pleasantly surprised. Mr. B first thanked me for the letters and said that he knew that they were sincere and heart-felt. Then he told me that he had received a call the day before telling him that he had just received an “unexpected windfall” on one of his investments! The amount?….four times the amount that he had to pay to get his car repaired!! And he said to me, “So you don’t need to worry about me having to pay for my car. I got it paid for plus some!” Through tears, I said, “Mr. B, that’s what I was praying for you…that you would be blessed for being such a blessing to us!” He said, “I know you were, that’s why I thought you should know about this.”

What mercy! What grace! What a Savior!!!!

And because of that mercy, that grace, that Savior, we will continue…….

Trusting His Plan

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carole Armstrong
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 21:19:59

    Just amazing. God is so good. Thank you for sharing. Love you

    Like

    Reply

  2. celeste
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 21:27:46

    Please start a book about all these kindnesses. People need to hear that God is personal and that God works through His people. It would be like another Chicken Soup for the Soul.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Mary Alice Odom
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 21:35:35

    Sandra, thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful story. God is good! Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Susan Dell
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 21:41:27

    “He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear The Lord an put their trust in HIM.” Psalm 40:3
    Your testimony is a HUGE blessing to me! Thank you for telling us about HIS work in your lives. We prayed for you this morning and will continue to lift you up.
    We love you and all your little darlings!!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Cindy Edgar
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 21:49:42

    Wow, that’s amazing! We really do serve an awesome God!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 22:13:51

    I just tearfully read this aloud to my family. What a wonderful man who demonstrated Christ’s love to you and Emilie — and how appropriate that you share this during Holy Week. The Holy Spirit moves in incredible ways and God orchestrates everything for HIS glory. You and your family are such faithful witnesses.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Gina Ramsey
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 23:08:40

    This is amazing and wonderful!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Ike Copper
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 10:54:09

    Wow!

    Like

    Reply

  9. Claudia Voigt
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 14:52:45

    Praise God!!! LOVE THIS!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Dorcas
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 15:30:20

    To God be the glory great things HE has done. the love of God shines through you.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Jeff and Pam Ansel
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 23:45:40

    Amen!!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Andrea Miles
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 17:37:22

    What a beautiful story! In the middle, before I got to the end, I was thinking well, thank God she has her dad to call about this, what a blessing, and it is, but then it was an even bigger blessing at the end. I am so sorry for your loss and I pray that you and your family will continue to feel God’s love as you go on. (I’m visiting from Mary’s Homegrown Learners blog.)

    Like

    Reply

  13. Karen @ Homeschool Girls
    Apr 19, 2014 @ 21:15:37

    I am here from Mary’s blog, Homegrown Learners. I am SO glad I visited. This just left me in tears but also smiling through them. Thank you for sharing this story. God bless your family Sandra.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

