One Day…..A Million Emotions

One day…..so many emotions. Yesterday was Greg’s 50th birthday. At the end of last month, I began to dread this day. I knew it would be so hard. I knew how much the kids and I would miss him. I knew how much his Mom, Dad, sister and the rest of his family would miss him. I just felt like it would be a time when we should all be together. But, I didn’t know what we should do to honor and remember Greg on his birthday. I knew that he would not want us sitting around being sad and crying all day. I wanted to do something special…something memorable…but I just wasn’t sure what that was. Then it hit me…..a Braves game! I checked the schedule and sure enough there was a home game scheduled for May 19. I checked with family members and purchased our tickets.

So yesterday, we spent the evening doing three of Greg’s favorite things……..spending time with family (we missed you Michael and Molly 😦 ), eating good food, and watching baseball! It was perfect weather for a game, we had a great time and the Braves WON!! This was definitely a great way to celebrate Greg’s birthday! After the game, Jake said, “Mom, I think we should make this a tradition and do this on Dad’s birthday every year.” I tend to agree with him!

One year ago, Greg celebrated his birthday sitting in a hospital room at MD Anderson in Houston, Texas. He was hooked up to multiple tubes with harsh chemicals flowing into his body, fighting for his life. Yesterday, he celebrated his 50th birthday in the Presence of the Giver of ALL Life! He celebrated with the One who IS the Way, and the Truth, and the Life!! We too, celebrated….but we also grieve that we can’t celebrate with him in person…..not this year….but we rejoice knowing that one day we will! We love and miss him more with each day that passes and cannot wait until we are all together again!! Happy Birthday Greg! We love you!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

IMG_5552

IMG_5549

IMG_5550

IMG_5555

IMG_5557

IMG_5559

IMG_5560

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Dell
    May 20, 2014 @ 22:05:20

    You are so brave! No pun intended… I really mean that!!
    We love you! The Dell Family

    Like

    Reply

  2. Claudia Voigt
    May 20, 2014 @ 22:23:09

    I LOVE THIS!!! Thank you for sharing this day with us! You’re always close to my heart!

    Like

    Reply

  3. kkgreenhouse
    May 20, 2014 @ 22:23:45

    That’s awesome, Sandra.  What a great way to celebrate (in spite of every emotion in the book!). Every time I see pictures of Jake I can’t believe how much he looks like Greg. 

    Like

    Reply

  4. Michele
    May 20, 2014 @ 23:49:11

    You are such a wonderful, thoughtful mother. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. marykprather
    May 21, 2014 @ 00:21:19

    What a PERFECT way to celebrate Greg’s birthday. I agree with Susan — you are so very brave, and such an example that we can do all things through Christ who gives us STRENGTH.

    Like

    Reply

  6. kddmyers
    May 21, 2014 @ 08:56:25

    Thank you for sharing, Sandra. You spent the day just the way Greg would have wanted. Happy Birthday Greg!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Jan Williams
    May 27, 2014 @ 14:36:39

    Sanrdra, My calendar is set to pop up Greg’s birthday and remind me to wish him a happy and memorable day, which I have done for many years. When it popped up this time, I thought of you, his children, parents, and other family who I knew would find this birthday difficult and I said a prayer for all. I am happy that through all of the emotion of the day, that you found a wonderful and memorable way to celebrate him and possibly find a way to enjoy remembering his birthday every year. God bless you all.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

