A Father To The Fatherless

IMG_6318

Jake, Katie, Dad and I

Today is a tough day. A day that is hard to put into words. Today my heart breaks for my children, as they experience the first Father’s Day without their Dad. Today my heart breaks for my children whose father was taken from them “too soon”. And even though we think it too soon, and we don’t understand….we believe that God is sovereign and we trust in His timing. That doesn’t mean that we like it or understand it, but we choose to trust it.

And so today, like every other day, I cling to God’s promise:
A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows,
is God in his holy dwelling. Psalm 68:5

I am so thankful that my children have this assurance that not only is our great God the Lord of Lords and the King of Kings, but He is also the Dad of Dads! But even so, they miss their earthly Dad terribly (and so do I). Their hearts break for the void that they feel especially today, and my heart breaks for them.

IMG_4798

IMG_5468

IMG-20120509-00205

If the Lord should bring us to your mind today, would you please pray for my children and all the other children that have lost their Dads “too soon”?

Today is a tough day, but we choose to continue…….

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra, Katie, Emilie and Jacob

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherie
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 09:17:50

    I’ve been praying for you and the kids all weekend!!!! My heart breaks for you!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Linda Sewell
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 09:57:29

    Sandra, I am praying for you and the kids. I lost my father when I was 6. It is difficult, but I truly feel the love of my Abba Father, Daddy. I pray that for your children. Love, Linda

    Like

    Reply

  3. Claudia Voigt
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 12:45:59

    Thank you for sharing your heart. My thoughts and prayers are with you & your precious children. I know God will provide the healing balm you need today. He IS Faithful. Love you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cindy Edgar
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 15:17:57

    I unexpectedly woke up very early this morning and God pressed upon me to pray for you, Katie, Emilie, & Jacob at that time. I’m sorry for the difficult days you have to go through. You are such a blessing and a wonderful example of living by faith instead of feelings. It was good seeing you a church this morning. Love you!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Norm & Christy
    Jun 15, 2014 @ 21:47:18

    We are thinking of you and praying for each of you today. Love you guys.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Bethany Johnson
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 00:08:10

    We prayed for you all today at lunch. I know Greg was an amazing dad! He left quite a legacy!

    Love you all,

    Bethany Johnson Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  7. kddmyers
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 08:30:45

    Thinking of you, Sandra. I know that all your days are hard but the special days even more so. Praying for you!

    Like

    Reply

  8. geigerjoslins
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 10:41:00

    Sandra, I am very sorry. I understand. I lost my husband almost 6 years ago. I thought I was going to be okay this Father’s Day. My daughter came home telling us about how a man stood up at her church and talked about giving away his two daughters. My daughter’s dad told her he wanted to live to walk her down the aisle someday. That’s all it took for us. Another day down the tubes! I will tell you, though, that it does get better with time. We no longer cry daily. I remarried and we are happy. We just haven’t stopped grieving. We have learned to enjoy life, but to allow the grief when it hits. May the Lord continue to grant grace on a daily basis as you walk this road.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

