It’s Not Meaningless

My heart is heavy tonight. This heaviness has been building over the past year. So much pain. So much suffering. This past year has been filled with much sadness for me. It began in June of 2013 when Katie’s best friend’s Dad passed away from brain cancer. In August, Greg and I attended another funeral for a friend who also passed away from cancer. And then in October, the love of my life went home to be with the Lord. Still grieving and somewhat in shock, just a couple of days after Greg’s funeral, I attended the funeral of one of my cousins. In February, I received the news that a dear friend that I used to work with had passed away….yet another funeral. In June a friend that I met through facebook lost her husband to cancer. She is left to raise three young children alone. I have three sweet friends who have experienced the death of a parent over this past year. Just in the past week, we have found out that the four-year old daughter of some of our friends has been diagnosed with Leukemia. And today, another dear friend has gone home to be with the Lord….again cancer. Also, at this very moment two more sweet friends of mine are at home with their husbands who are under the care of hospice.

What is going on??? Why is the Lord allowing all of these things to happen? It’s all so sad. It’s all so painful. It’s all so heartbreaking. Why are parents being taken from their children? Why are parents having to bury their children? Why are sweet, innocent children having to go through harsh treatments while their parents stand by feeling helpless? Why are children having to grow up without their Mom or Dad? Why are marriages being ripped apart because of death?? I don’t get it! It doesn’t seem right; it doesn’t seem fair! It all seems meaningless!

Although this is what my heart feels, God’s Word tells me differently. God is Sovereign and His plan is perfect. As believers, everything that happens to us is for our good and His glory. I’m not pretending to understand this, but I believe it to be true. I struggle with this, but I trust my God. But just because I trust Him, doesn’t mean that the pain is any less. But I do believe that He is who He says He is, and that He has a good and perfect plan for each of us. And the things that happen in our life are not meaningless, but instead are “preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.” And because of this, I will still praise Him!

Please take a few minutes to watch this. I have posted it before, but it is so good it’s worth posting again. I pray it encourages you and helps you to realize that the things we experience in this life are NOT meaningless.

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michele
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 00:12:37

    As always, beautifully and eloquently written, Sandra. You have a gift of putting into words thoughts and feelings many others may have too, but are just not able to share quite the same way. I have been meditating on Job this past couple weeks, and you are so right-we may never fully understand-but we TRUST, because God is good, and faithful, and He is true to His promises. Our understanding is limited by this world, and He is operating in a much bigger arena. You are always in my prayers. Thank you for this blog-you have a gift that touches me, and I have even been able to share with others.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Toni Saba
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 00:14:00

    I love this song and remember posting it too when Greg went home. It is powerful!! I pray the Dennis family will embrace it and look to God for comfort. There is no happiness right now…there is too much pain. But it will come….it will. God is enough! If He wasn’t, we would all fold and buckle under the weight of the sorrow. He is incredibly merciful to us. You are seeing…they will see too. You my sweet sister are not forgotten, nor the others who have lost so deeply. The days are hard still, I am sure. Keep clinging and don’t let go! God is close to the broken-hearted.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Jo
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 08:40:39

    Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts, Sandra. Many times your words mirror exactly what I have been experiencing. My husband passed away in December, 2013. There are many days filled with crying out to God in my grief to help me keep my focus on HIm. Our Sunday School lesson just yesterday was the beginning of six lessons on “Resilient Faith: Standing Strong in the Midst of Suffering.” How my heart was touched in knowing with certainty that the trials and suffering we are experiencing are just a temporary blimp in the overall picture. If we allow, the trials will help us to grow and become even stronger in our witness. Believers must keep our faith focused on the sure hope we have in Christ. That’s what helps me make it through each day: keeping my faith focused on the LORD! I, too, pray God will continue to comfort you in a way that helps you to bring comfort and healing to others. God Bless.

    Like

    Reply

  4. kddmyers
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 08:54:16

    Sandra, you have perfectly expressed my thoughts lately… so much suffering, so much death. I think often of those who have lost someone in the last year, your family and many others, and those who are fighting hard battles right now. It makes my heart heavy, too. It can cause fear and anxiety and bitterness if we don’t keep our hearts and minds fixed on Jesus. Thank you for always pointing back to God and His Sovereign plan.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

