One Thing

“But that’s not fair! It’s the ONE THING that I REALLY want!” That was a lament that Greg and I often heard from one of our children when they were younger and didn’t get what they wanted. Maybe it was an item they wanted, something they wanted to do or somewhere they wanted to go. But whatever it was, if we said “No”, we were often met with this response. As if, had we agreed to it, all would be right with this child’s world……at least until the next “One Thing” came along!

There was quite a bit of drama included in these little episodes, and we joke about it now. But how many of us, as adults, have that ONE THING in our lives? How do we feel when we want something so badly, but we can’t have it? Maybe we stand shaking our little fists at God and saying, “But that’s not fair! It’s the ONE THING that I REALLY want!” “If I could just have this One Thing, my life would be complete or at least so much better.” “This is the One Thing that would make me happy.” “I’m not asking for much, I don’t understand why I can’t have it!”

That One Thing can be different for different people. For some it may be a spouse. “God, if you’d just bring that special someone into my life, I’d be happy.” For some it may be a changed spouse. “God, if you’d just change him/her, things would be so much better.” Maybe your One Thing is a good friend. “God, all I want is one good friend who I can be myself around. Someone who “gets me”. For others that One Thing might be a child. “God, why can’t I have a baby? I don’t get it! If You would just give me a baby, I’d never ask for anything else.” Your One Thing might be a better job or a different work environment. Maybe it’s a house, a newer house, or a bigger house. For many the One Thing is more money. “God, if I had more money and didn’t have to stress about finances so much, I could spend more time with my family. I could tithe more. I could be more generous.”

If we’re honest, most of us have our One Thing, and often our One Thing changes throughout the seasons of our lives. I personally have been dealing with my own One Thing over the last several years. From October 2011 until October 2013, my One Thing was “God please heal my husband this side of Heaven. This is the ONE THING that I REALLY want, God.” I prayed, and I begged and I believed with all of my heart that God was going to give me my ONE THING. I claimed His promises, I hid His Word in my heart and hung it in my house as a constant reminder. But God, in His Sovereignty, did not give me my ONE THING. My heart was crushed and my world was rocked. I didn’t understand. It made no sense to me. I just didn’t “get it”. But by God’s grace, I can honestly say that I never got angry at God or stood shaking my fist at Him. But on October 20, 2013 I did find myself dealing with another One Thing. I often found myself saying, “God, the One Thing that I want, I can never have. I just want Greg back here with me and the kids. I just want our family back.” I have struggled with the pain of knowing that the One Thing that I want, I can never, ever have. I know that I will see Greg again and our family will be reunited, but oh, how I long to have him here with me now!

Over the past several months, the Lord has been dealing with me regarding these two little words…..One Thing. He is showing me that all of these One Things are the wrong things. It’s not that they are all bad desires, but they should not be the biggest desires of our hearts. I began to study God’s Word and what He has to say about “One Thing”. Here are a few things that He’s teaching me (and that I’m trying to learn 🙂 )

1. The One Thing that I should ask for and seek after is that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, and that I might gaze upon the beauty of the Lord. Psalm 27:4

2. The One Thing that should be more important to me than anything else is spending time with Jesus. Luke 10:41-42

3. I should not forget this One Thing…that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. 2 Peter 3:8

4. I need to get rid of the “One Things” in my life that are distracting me from my relationship with God. Mark 10:21

5. I may not know the answer to many things, but One Thing I do know….I once was lost, but now I’m found. I once was blind, but now I see! John 9:25

6. I am still not all I should be, but I am bringing all my energies to bear on this ONE THING: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God is calling me up to Heaven because of what Christ Jesus did for me. Philippians 3:13-14

I leave you with a song that means so much to me. As a matter of fact, it has been the ringtone on my phone for about the last two years. In a world that seems to be crashing down around me and always changing, I am learning that Jesus is the ONE THING that never changes. His love endures forever. Praise God for His faithfulness! This ONE THING remains!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 19:58:29

    As usual — this speaks to me. Thank you, Sandra. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jo
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:12:01

    Thanks so very much, Sandra. Your words describe exactly where I am in my grief journey. God’s words came clearly to me much earlier this year and told me to “be patient, take one step at a time, study His Word, draw closer to Him, and continue to take time to communicate with Him each day. I need to be reminded of these truths most every day. Thank you for the encouragement and inspiration you are to me. May God continue to bless you in your journey. Love and Blessings,

    Like

    Reply

  3. Claudia Voigt
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:36:49

    Amen. I need to adjust my One Thing to align with His One Thing. We will never go wrong when we embrace Jesus Christ. Thank you for this reminder. I am going to place your “list” in my journal for reference. Love you.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cathy Goddard
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 08:40:25

    Thank you so much for this, Sandra. So true for most of us.

    Like

    Reply

  5. sandra
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 18:25:22

    Reblogged this on Trusting His Plan and commented:

    Since I haven’t posted anything in quite awhile, I thought I’d share this post from one year ago today.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

