You Never Know

“My joy is gone; grief is upon me; my heart is sick within me.” Jer. 8:18

That is the first verse that I read this morning in my devotion time, and I must say that it pretty much sums up how I feel today. It’s been an emotional week. It’s a struggle to keep my joy. Can’t sleep at night. Can’t turn off the “recording” in my mind that plays over and over and over. Replaying the last few days that Greg was here. It’s coming up on a year now….October 20. How can that be?? How can it seem like yesterday, but also like an eternity? It seems like yesterday because the feelings, the emotions, the memories are still so fresh, so painful, so raw, so real. But at the same time, every day without Greg feels like an eternity. Looking back on my blog posts from this time last year, we had no idea what was coming. We had no idea that when we left our house for Houston on October 15, 2013, that the kids and I would be coming home six days later without Greg. When we were getting ready to leave for the airport that night, we were planning to be back home in 2-3 days. Whenever we traveled to MD Anderson, Greg always took his computer so that he could continue to work. That night, he decided to leave his computer home saying, “We’re only going to be gone a couple of days, I think I’ll just leave my computer this time.” We had NO idea. We knew he was sick, but we had NO idea. He was supposed to be going out just to receive a treatment and then right back home. We had NO idea. We didn’t know.

But God knew. He was not taken by surprise. And He was with us every step of the way…He was with us. In the midst of heartache, and confusion, and desperation, and aloneness…..He was with us. He provided for us in so many ways those last few days in Houston. (I’ll try to share some of those in later posts) He made it abundantly clear that He was with us and that even though our lives were about to be completely changed…He NEVER changes. Yet, it is still hard. And there are still tears. And there is still sorrow. And there is still grief and mourning. But it’s okay, because He understands and He is with us. It’s okay, because He tells us that this is the way of life. There is a time for sadness and grief and sorrow and mourning.

There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:
a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.
Ecc. 3:1-8

I look back to a year ago and could never have imagined that I would be in this place today. A widow with three kids trying to make sense of it all. Trying to figure out how to keep going, even if I don’t feel like it. Trying to figure out what God’s purpose is in leaving me here without a husband and my children without a father. But, that’s just it, isn’t it? We can’t know what is coming next year, or next week, or even later today. That’s why we need to really know the One who does know these things. Our world, our situation, our circumstances are always changing. That’s why we have to hold fast to the One who NEVER changes. The One who is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is the One that can help us through the things that we never saw coming. He is our Hope!

And although, I start my time in the Word with this verse: “My joy is gone; grief is upon me; my heart is sick within me.” I end my time in the Word with this verse: “Weeping may last for the night, but joy comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5

I pray that you know the One who never changes, because you never know when YOUR world is going to change.

These pictures were taken in New Mexico in October 2012. One year before Greg’s death. We didn’t know.

IMG_4260

IMG_4112

IMG_4203

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Ramsey
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 11:35:39

    I love the last picture. I can’t believe that it has been a year either…I think about Greg often and I can’t even imagine your heartbreak. I just want you to know that I think you are wonderful and amazing….such a great role model for the kids and for everyone who knows you….just as Greg was. I know he is so proud of you.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Toni Saba
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 11:47:28

    always inspiring..always making God bigger..LOVE!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kimberly Coffey
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 11:55:58

    Even through your pains, you continue to praise Him. Prayers for you today for peace, continued thoughts for you and your children to know God’s love.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Elise Kilgore
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 12:10:48

    This one brought tears. Praying for you all… Thankful for the godly influence each of you are for us all. We love you.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Terilynne mccurry
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 12:22:53

    Praying for you and your family. Even though our sadness and grief seems so big and heavy, we serve a God who is bigger and He never a forgets His own!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Cathy Goddard
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 13:43:05

    Oh, Sandra. We hold you close to our hearts and you all are in our prayers.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Amanda
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 15:55:45

    Ive been thinking about you a lot lately. I knew the one year was coming up. My heart is just heavy to read your post and just also encouraged to read of your hope. Love those photos so very much. Love to you sweet Sandra and family

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kathleen Dooley
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 19:33:00

    I too have been thinking and praying for you as the 1 year mark approaches. It is hard not to ask why, but so glad that you know the WHO that holds you dear in His arms.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Tracy
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 22:57:22

    Love you, Sandra! Praying for you. Thank you for sharing your heart. I love the pictures!

    Like

    Reply

  10. johnorr0723
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 06:05:04

    Thank you for a glimpse into your heart and a challenge to mine.

    Like

    Reply

  11. sandra
    Feb 24, 2015 @ 10:23:32

    Reblogged this on Trusting His Plan and commented:

    This morning in my Bible reading I came across two verses that reminded me so much of this post that I wrote back in October. Hard times WILL come and often they come with no warning. We MUST be preparing now, so that when our lives are hit we won’t “fall to pieces”. HE is what we need in order to be prepared. We need to know Him, know His Word and daily spend time in His Presence. Make time today to prepare for what’s to come.

    If you fall to pieces in a crisis, there wasn’t much to you in the first place. ~Proverbs 24:10 (MSG)

    Without warning your life can turn upside down, and who knows how or when it might happen? ~Proverbs 24:22 (MSG)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

