Bittersweet Changes

As I mentioned in my last post, the past year has been full of changes for me.  The most recent big change has been a remodeling of the outside of my home.  This was something that Greg and I had been planning to do and had been saving for, for many years.  We had faulty siding on our house and Greg had replaced many boards, including rebuilding the chimney chase, over the last several years.  We would spend time driving around looking at houses, trying to decide what we wanted to do with ours once we made the decision to replace the siding.  We had pretty much decided what we wanted and were about ready to get things rolling with it, when Greg was diagnosed with melanoma.  Needless to say, everything was put on hold at that point.  This past summer, I began to get anxious about being the one responsible for the upkeep of the house.  I knew that Greg had felt that the siding was in poor condition and needed to be replaced, and I knew that I could not replace boards like he had done in the past.  I was afraid if I didn’t do something soon, I would end up with more trouble down the road.

So, I very timidly began the process of getting estimates for having the job done.  I’ll just tell you that it’s difficult to get estimates for something that you know nothing about!  But God was very gracious and provided me with a friend that knows about this type thing and he really helped walk me through the whole process.  John and his wife Laurie have been dear friends to Greg and I since high school! They have been a huge support from the beginning to the end of the project and I know that Greg would be so thankful that John has been here to help me make good decisions!

After getting the estimates, I really prayed and ask the Lord to give me wisdom in making my choice, and He did just that! The contractor that I chose has been so very kind and patient with me, and he was very sensitive to my situation.  Not to mention the fact that he does quality work, and I am so very pleased with how everything turned out!  So, if you are looking to do some work on your house, I can give you a great recommendation!!

But, the whole process has been very emotional for me.  All of the decision-making was very stressful.  After being married for 27 years, I am used to having someone to discuss all of my decisions with.  Someone to share ideas with and get input from.  Someone that knows more about these things than I do!  I was so very thankful that Greg and I had talked so much about what we wanted to do…..thankful that I knew his preferences.  It was also very sad for me to see the house that Greg and I built 23 years ago being completely changed.  I never thought about it causing sadness for me, but it did….seeing pieces of my house…our house…torn down and carried away.  I did save a few pieces that I hope to repurpose.

The Lord continues to show me that He is with me and He is for me.  That He will lead me, He will provide for me, He will be my Protector and Defender.  I am so thankful for Him and His faithfulness to me!

The remodel is now complete.  My friend, John, came over the other day to take a look at the finished work and as he got ready to leave he said, “I have one more question for you.  Do you think Greg would like it?”  My answer was “Yes.”  I do think Greg would like it.  And that makes me happy.

Before:

IMG_5983 IMG_5982

After:

IMG_6238  IMG_6240   IMG_6246  IMG_6248IMG_6241 IMG_6243IMG_6244IMG_6251

For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.  Isaiah 43:19

Trusting His Plan,                                                                                                                                                                       Sandra

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Dunklin
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 21:10:32

    Sandra, it is just beautiful. I hope you store up a million new good memories under that roof.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Cheri Smith
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 21:54:31

    Very beautiful! I especially love the screened in room. I am sure Greg would be very proud of you for tackling this project. I think it is just one more way to honor his memory by completing something you both had planned on doing.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Ashley Gaddy
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 22:02:46

    I love it Sandra! It is beautiful and I know Greg is smiling down on you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. marykprather
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 22:12:02

    You did a beautiful job. I love the last verse. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. Lisa Davis
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 22:22:37

    Love it! Just beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Sonya
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 23:01:46

    Sandra, it looks wonderful! Thank you for sharing the pictures! I admire the courage and strength it took to make these big decisions. I know you will enjoy many sweet times with the Lord on your screened porch. I’m sure Greg would love it too!!

    Like

    Reply

  7. Melanie McBride
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 23:14:17

    Sandra, your house looks beautiful! Thank you for sharing how God works in your life. We pray for you daily, as I’ve shared before. We trust God to carry you and to be your stronghold. ❤

    Like

    Reply

  8. Amanda Kurz
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 23:51:44

    I think he would like it and I think he would be so very proud of you!

    Like

    Reply

  9. rhondaboyle
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 00:09:06

    Beautiful job, Sandra! The house has turned out beautifully! Greg would be very proud of you! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  10. Alice Hoffman
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 08:54:45

    Lovely blog and this house looks amazing! Thankful it is done…and thankful you had the courage to face it all. God is so faithful. Alice

    Like

    Reply

  11. Toni Saba
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 09:14:07

    Just beautiful Sandra! I love the new look. Greg would be proud.

    Like

    Reply

  12. kddmyers
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 09:30:57

    Sandra, the house looks amazing! I hope that you will enjoy these changes for many years to come. You did a great job with this project, and I know that Greg would be so proud.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Heather smith
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 16:57:05

    Sandra, it’s so lovely! I would love to have some coffee with you on that screened porch!

    Like

    Reply

  14. Rusty Guest
    Jan 24, 2015 @ 22:51:44

    Sandra, thanks for posting your progress on the house. It’s gorgeous.

    How proud Greg would be of your moving cautiously and carefully on the house. It’s looks timeless and classic and ready for community group, too! There’ll be great memories within (and outside) the walls of your lovely renovated home place.

    Do you happen to have web page info on John and Laurie?

    Take care. We love you guys.

    Like

    Reply

  15. Aimee Graham
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 13:53:30

    You are one of the strongest women I know. The house looks beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

  16. Faye
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 15:01:33

    Sandra, it’s just beautiful! I’ve always loved the craftman style, and it looks great on your home! What a cherished completion of yours and Gregs work!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

