Are You A Broken Puzzle?

In the past, my life felt like a magnificent, beautiful puzzle with all of the pieces fitting together perfectly. I had a wonderful marriage, three terrific children, a comfortable home, family and friends that I love. I was blessed to be a stay-at-home Mom. We were a homeschooling family, and part of a fabulous homeschool group. I was healthy, my husband was healthy, my kids were healthy. We belonged to a church that we loved and we each had our place of ministry there. I could easily look at my life and identify my purpose. We had plans; we had dreams. Things were good. We were “living in the blessing”, as my husband would often say!

But lately, my life feels more like a broken, incomplete collection of random puzzle pieces. My heart longs to take those puzzles pieces and put them together to form that beautiful picture that once was my life. But no matter how long I stare at those broken pieces, I know that they will never create that beautiful picture again. Some pieces are missing now. Many pieces are still there, they just don’t look the same anymore. They look as if they’ve been caught up in the vacuum cleaner and they will never fit like they once did.

Can you relate? Does your life represent a broken puzzle? Do you long to put all the pieces together to create a beautiful picture? Do you feel like you’ll just never “get it all together”? Maybe you’ve felt this way a long time….maybe even all your life. Maybe you’ve never experienced that life that resembled a beautifully put-together puzzle. Or maybe you’re like me, and had that life where everything just seemed to “fit”. But recently, it’s as if that puzzle has been knocked off the table and now lies on the floor in pieces. Some pieces may be long gone, never to be found or replaced. And some pieces may be stepped on, and dirty, and torn and broken. It’s not a fun place to be.

But, I’ve got encouraging news for you! Good news! Hopeful news! Trustworthy news! For those of us who are believers, no matter what may happen to our puzzle, no matter how many pieces are lost, no matter how many pieces are stepped on or mangled by this world…..One piece will never be lost, will never be broken, and can never be damaged by this world. That piece is Christ! No matter what happens to our puzzle, that piece will NEVER change! And even if every other piece is damaged or lost..it’s okay. Because this piece is not the last piece that makes the puzzle complete and pretty. It’s not the piece that we add at the very end and say, “Now I’m done.” No, this piece is the FIRST piece! It’s the piece that all of the other pieces are connected to and built around. This piece, this Jesus, is the central, most important piece of the puzzle!

Jesus is the foundation, and if we never have another piece to add to our puzzle, that would be okay. He is enough! But…I believe that He has a bigger plan for us. I believe He wants to build our puzzle into something magnificent, something glorious and beautiful! I also believe that our lives are represented by different puzzles throughout our time on earth. My puzzle won’t look like yours and, yours won’t look like mine. My puzzle that He’s building now doesn’t look like my puzzle from the past.

Sometimes our puzzle is beautiful and complete, sometimes it’s only half-way done, and sometimes our puzzle is nothing more than a bunch of random pieces scattered across the floor. We must choose to reach down, pick up the piece that is Jesus, put it on the table and trust Him to add to our puzzle until it is once again a magnificent, beautiful puzzle with all of the pieces fitting together perfectly. No, it won’t look like the beautiful puzzle of our past, but with Christ at the center, it will be beautiful indeed!!

Listen, God! Please, pay attention! Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries? King-God, I need your help. Every morning you’ll hear me at it again. Every morning I lay out the pieces of my life on your altar and watch for fire to descend. ~Psalm 5:1-3 (The Message)

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Dell
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 19:47:20

    Love it! Well, done!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Cheri Smith
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 21:26:47

    Amazing! Thanks for so beautifully putting to words the feelings many of us have. God has truly blessed you with a gift, Sandra. I am so excited about your blog posts. Thank you for being obedient to Him because it is such an encouragement to so many.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

