What We’ve Been Up To

Many of you often ask what the kids and I are up to and how we are doing, so I thought I’d share a little about what’s going on in our lives. It’s not all that exciting, but if you’re interested….read on!

I am doing well and trying to learn how to face each day with joy and expectation. I constantly struggle with having to “take every thought captive”, and choose instead to focus on the Truth of God’s Word. I still have difficulty sleeping some nights, but find that I am having more “good” nights than I have in the past.

Jake and I are still homeschooling, so that takes a portion of my time although he does well at working independently.

Currently I am involved in two weekly Bible studies. One is Bible Study Fellowship (BSF) where we are studying the life of Moses. The other study is with two sweet ladies who are also recent widows, and we are currently doing a study called “Steadfast”, which is a book about prayer based on the life of David. Moses and David…two great men of God!

I have recently been dealing with a torn meniscus, which has caused me a great deal of pain and problems with mobility. I ended up with a cortisone shot about 5-6 weeks ago and it finally seems to be on the mend. I even got back to the gym once this past week!

Katie is in her junior year at Point University and is doing really well. She stays busy with classes, homework, a job at the school and being a CLM (campus life minister, or RA). She is also involved in a local church close to her apartment. Katie was asked to go on a Middle School girls’ retreat this weekend as one of the speakers/leaders. She got home this afternoon and said she really enjoyed it, but got very little sleep. 🙂

Emilie is in her sophomore year at Clayton State University, and is also doing well. She is taking a mix of night and online classes, as she has a full-time day job as a Nanny…..which she loves! She also usually works a couple of nights a week at Chick-fil-A. So even though Emilie “technically” lives at home, many days I just see her as she passes through from one activity to the next.

As I said, Jacob is in 10th grade and is homeschooled for most of his classes. He does take two classes, chemistry and Spanish, through our local homeschool group. He is a good student and is making good grades. Jake enjoys tennis and takes weekly lessons. We’ve been discussing the possibility of him getting a job later in the year. He has his learner’s permit and drives every chance he gets! He is a big help to me around the house, taking on some of the things that Greg used to do.

So, that about sums up what is going on with us these days! Thank you so much for continuing to pray for our family. We appreciate it SO much!

Below are a few pictures of what this past week was like for us.

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

Jake taking down some old blinds for me.

Jake taking down some old blinds for me.

For Christmas, I had given the girls tickets to see Wicked at the Fox. The day had finally come!

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

Dinner before the play.

Dinner before the play.

Excited for the play to start

Excited for the play to start

Christmas in February!

Christmas in February!

We had the honor of attending a graduation ceremony for one of our dear friends. Luke, we are so happy for you and proud of you for your accomplishment!

IMG_6315

IMG_6317

Jacob went to a dance…so of course I had to get a few pictures of him all dressed up!

IMG_6320

The "awkward couple pose" as Emilie called it.  :)

The “awkward couple pose” as Emilie called it. 🙂

IMG_6325

Finally...a normal one!

Finally…a normal one!

We ended the week by attending an excellent play at White Water High School.

Zach and Hannah King did an outstanding job!!

Zach and Hannah King did an outstanding job!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marykprather
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 21:04:37

    Your dinner at Mary Mac’s looks like such fun — I have fond memories of taking my mom there before we went to see Beauty & The Beast several years ago – an Atlanta tradition I think.

    Jake is getting SO very grown up, Sandra. I know you are proud of him. And the girls – what great things they are doing, too. We see Emilie all the time at CFA.

    Thanks for this update – I enjoyed reading!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Dan Honea
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 07:01:41

    Your posts are encouraging and uplifting; keep it up.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sonya
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 16:33:01

    I pray for you guys each morning on my way to work. You are always close in my thoughts and heart. I miss seeing you guys. It’s good to hear what everyone is up to.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

