Meet The Newest Masters!!

We have a new addition to our family! He is cute and cuddly and oh, so tiny! Meet Little Chipper….aka Chip! Yes, Jake named him and yes, he is named after Chipper Jones! 🙂 Jake will turn 16 on Saturday, and Chip is his birthday gift. And of course, there is a cool God story that goes along with Jake getting this puppy!

For as many years as I can remember, the kids have always wanted a dog. Greg and I always said no. We felt bad about saying no, but just couldn’t bring ourselves to make the committment. With Jake’s birthday approaching, I really felt the Lord leading me to let him have a dog, and again I pushed back. I kept arguing with God..I have enough to take care of already. I don’t want my carpets messed up or my furniture chewed up. I don’t want to spend money on a dog. And the Lord kept answering…Jake is responsible, he’ll take care of the dog. Carpet and furniture are just things. Just trust Me!

As I continued to think about it and pray about it, I really felt like the Lord was impressing on my heart that Jake needed a dog at this time in his life. Greg was his best friend, and he’s gone. Katie is away at school. Emilie is rarely home, due to her work and school schedule. That leaves just me here with Jake, and honestly, I’m just not that much fun or entertainment for a 16 year old boy!

So, I decided that I would bite the bullet and tell him that he could have a puppy for his birthday. But….there were a few restrictions. Since he wanted an inside dog, it had to be small and it had to be a low-shed/no-shed dog. I wanted him to have a puppy, not an older dog. He agreed and so we set out to find a puppy that would meet these requirements. Once I found a puppy and how much it cost, I again began talking to God! I struggle a lot with spending money on what we need versus spending money on what we want. I told God….we don’t NEED a dog! But the Lord just kept impressing on my heart that at this time in Jake’s life, he does need a dog.

After a few days, I hesitantly mailed off the deposit. A couple of days later, I received an unexpected refund check in the mail from our orthodontist! AND…the amount was within $25 of the full price of the puppy!! God did that for me!! It’s like He was saying, “See. I told you to trust Me!”

Now, if I can just make it through the puppy stage without having to replace my carpet and/or furniture, we’ll be great! 😉

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

When Jake and Chip first met!

When Jake and Chip first met!

Emilie and Marleigh meet Chip....or Little Chippy Jones, as Marleigh calls him.  :)

Emilie and Marleigh meet Chip….or Little Chippy Jones, as Marleigh calls him. 🙂

We are already in love with this cute guy!

We are already in love with this cute guy!

Working out those puppy teeth.

Working out those puppy teeth.

Sooo cute!

Sooo cute!

Chip helped Jake with his Spanish project.  :)

Chip helped Jake with his Spanish project. 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dmy2121
    May 06, 2015 @ 18:36:28

    Can’t wait to meet the little guy and celebrate #16 with the not-so-little guy on Saturday!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Julie Alain
    May 06, 2015 @ 19:44:24

    Loved meeting Chipper today – so precious!

    Like

    Reply

  3. kddmyers
    May 06, 2015 @ 21:26:59

    Adorable! What kind of puppy is Chipper?

    Like

    Reply

  4. kkgreenhouse
    May 06, 2015 @ 21:55:09

    Oh my word! He is adorable! Looks like you’ve found the perfect one!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sonya
    May 07, 2015 @ 05:44:09

    He is precious and looks so much like my Sadie looked when she was a puppy. He will bring so much joy to your family. They warm there way into your heart and you just fall in love!! Thanks for sharing the story!!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Gina Ramsey
    May 07, 2015 @ 07:16:22

    Cute puppy!!! Congratulations and Happy Birthday Jacob!!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

