It’s Official…

Well, it’s official…..I am now the mother of a teenager! The key word here being “A”. “A” meaning singular; one. Yep, last week Emilie celebrated her 20th birthday and just like that, I went from being the mother of two teenagers, to being the mother of one teenager. How did it happen so fast?? I remember when my children were all so little and I could not even imagine being the Mom of a teen. Then it happened…Katie turned 13. And two years later, Emilie hit the teens. As Jake approached the big 13, I remember thinking, “I am going to be the Mom of THREE teenagers! How can that be? Just yesterday, I had three babies!”

Well, I survived the years of having three teens at one time and two years ago, I was back to being the Mom of two teenagers and now….here I am again…the Mom of “A” teenager. If you might have forgotten, may I remind you…time is fleeting. It doesn’t stand still. It never stops. At times it makes me sad to think about all of my children growing up and beginning independent lives of their own. But isn’t that what our job as a parent is all about? Raising, nurturing, teaching and instructing our children so that they will grow up to lead successful, independent lives. It’s exciting to see what the Lord is going to do in each of their lives! This is what it is to be a parent.

The Lord has used this example to show me something else about life. With the condition of our world right now, it makes me sad to think about all that is to come in the days ahead. I truly believe that we are entering into the Last Days that the Bible speaks of in Revelation. It’s scary and sad to think about all of the things that the Word says is going to take place in these days. But as I have been studying and pondering these things, the Lord has shown me this: Isn’t that what being a Christian is all about? Isn’t that what we, as Believers, are living for? Isn’t that the purpose of our journey here on earth….to get to the end? To come to the end of this life as we know it and to live for eternity with our Heavenly Father. It’s exciting to see God’s plan unfold. This is what it is to be a Christian.

So, just as getting to the end of parenthood (although we never really get to an end 🙂 ) is scary and somewhat sad, getting to the end of this life as we know it is also scary and somewhat sad. But that’s the way God designed it..it’s His plan. And His plan can ALWAYS be trusted!

Emilie and I celebrated her birthday, by taking a trip to Nashville. The weather wasn’t the greatest, but we still had a great time and I enjoyed spending one on one time with my favorite Middle Child! Here are a few pictures from our time away.

First order of business...a treat from King's Donuts!

First order of business…a treat from The King’s Donuts!

We enjoyed visiting the life-size replica of The Parthenon.

We enjoyed visiting the life-size replica of The Parthenon.

IMG_6699

IMG_6700

IMG_6702

Enjoyed some awesome BBQ at this little hole in the wall!

Enjoyed some awesome BBQ at this little hole in the wall!

Had fun walking around the beautiful Gaylord Opryland Hotel

Had fun walking around the beautiful Gaylord Opryland Hotel

IMG_6706

IMG_6709

IMG_6710

Enjoyed some beautiful views from the pedestrian bridge.

Enjoyed some beautiful views from the pedestrian bridge.

IMG_6716

IMG_6720

IMG_6721

Can't go to Nashville without spending an evening at the Grand Ole Opry!

Can’t go to Nashville without spending an evening at the Grand Ole Opry!

IMG_6726

The Willis Clan

The Willis Clan

Thompson Square

Thompson Square

Ricky Scaggs

Ricky Scaggs

We also went to two different McKays and got many (like our trunk was full) books for free or low-cost.  Yes, we are book geeks...we both love to read!!

We also went to two different McKays and got many (like our trunk was full) books for free or low-cost. Yes, we are book geeks…we both love to read!!

Happy 20th birthday Emilie!

Happy 20th birthday Emilie!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda Kurz
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 20:14:36

    I wish I could have joined you at McKays for the book shopping. I hope you found some good ones!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Gina Ramsey
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:50:49

    Emilie, I’m glad you had a wonderful birthday with just you and your Mom!

    Like

    Reply

  3. kddmyers
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 19:51:30

    I can’t believe Emily is 20! I can vividly picture her holding babies and toddlers in Voyagers just a short time ago. She has grown up beautifully :0)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

