How Do You Combat Fear And Anxiety??

I’ve never really been a fearful or anxious person, but I must admit, since Greg’s death, I have struggled with these things. My perfect, little world had been shattered…it only makes sense that I would struggle with some fear and anxiety, right??

What do you do when you feel overwhelmed with these emotions? I know that I’ve mentioned here before that my worst times are usually at night. It seems that some nights, as soon as my head hits my pillow, my mind starts racing and I CAN NOT make it stop! I guess it’s not so much fear as it is anxiety. I start thinking about how much I miss him, how much I wish he was still here, how much I wish he was here for the kids. Then it moves into anxiety about my future, anxiety about my present. All the things that need to be done…the things that Greg use to do; the things that I don’t know how to do. I start feeling pressured about my ever-growing to-do list and even worse, the growing list of decisions that must be made just regarding life in general. It was just so much easier and less stressful when there were two of us making decisions together…house decisions, parenting decisions, schooling decisions, financial decisions…life decisions!! I would be awake for hours some nights, just not able to shut my brain down so that I could rest.

So, early on in my days of being a widow, I did the only thing that I knew to do…recite Scripture and remind myself of God’s promises. (Plus I found Advil PM to be my friend!) In the beginning, the anxious thoughts often drowned out the Scripture, but I would pray that the Lord would help me to take every thought captive and I would turn my thoughts back to Him.

One of the verses that I would quote almost every night before I got in bed is Proverbs 3:24….”When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.” I claimed this promise over myself almost every night. The verse is very dear to my heart.

When I was having some remodeling done on my house last year, I found myself very sad to see parts of my house taken down and thrown away. Greg and I had this house built 24 years ago and it felt like more of him was being taken away from me….if that makes any sense. So I decided to salvage a few pieces from the house…two windows and the front door…not even knowing what I would do with them.

A few months before Greg passed away, he had redone our bedroom for me. New carpet, new paint and trim, new furniture, etc. I wanted to hang something over the bed, but I could never find anything that seemed like the right thing. Then one day, I walked past the windows that I had saved from our house and I knew exactly what I wanted! I wanted the frame to match some picture frames in my room and I wanted to have Prov. 3:24 painted or stenciled on the glass. I would hang it over my bed to remind me of the Lord’s promise to make my sleep sweet!

So, with the help of several sweet friends, I got it done and I love it!!

20151208_090848

20151207_230657

20151208_091008

I still have some tough nights, but recently my nights are filled more with Scripture and less with anxiety and fear (and a little less Advil PM too! 🙂 )

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn Masters
    Jan 17, 2016 @ 21:48:46

    Really like this idea and this scripture. Hope to come over and see it real soon. Love You.

    Like

    Reply

  2. marykprather
    Jan 17, 2016 @ 23:32:51

    I love this, Sandra. I hope you realize what an encouragement you are to me – and I am sure many, many others. Hugs, my friend.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Cricket
    Jan 18, 2016 @ 01:18:41

    I pray for you every night. I know that your story has been the hardest path you have ever walked. Your strength and your faith truly is a shining light for all to see. You have always been such a testimony of your assurance and faithfulness in the Lord. I so admire you. Psalm 91 is one of my favorite chapters,I read it at least once a week and it always so comforting to me. Much Love, Cricket

    Like

    Reply

    • sandra
      Jan 18, 2016 @ 09:29:51

      Thank you, Cricket! I so appreciate you and your prayers. I love Psalm 91 too…so thankful that God’s Word has something to say about every trouble that we might face! Love you!

      Like

      Reply

  4. Rocky
    Jan 19, 2016 @ 09:51:54

    Sandra, I recently heard Levi Lusko speak at the Passion 2016 conference and I am not sure if you have heard of his book “Through the Eyes of a Lion” but I would like to recommend it to you as it is an awesome book dealing with loss but giving us HOPE. I miss Greg at work as he was an awesome man of faith who I enjoyed talking with as iron sharpens iron.
    My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family.
    His use of ‘Saturday’ as the time we are in now, was a revelation to me. That we are all in this stop gap of life until Sunday comes.
    Her are his words on why he wrote this book “Part of the reason I wanted to write this book was so you could have my field notes as you navigate through the rugged and uncertain terrain that is Saturday,” says Lusko. “We’re in this together – the space between promise and fulfilment. Living with your heart set on heaven but your feet still on earth is not easy. The trouble with Saturday is that we have no clue when it will end. Jesus specifically told us that no one but his Father knows the hour or the date of his return, and non of us knows for certain when our day will come to die, so we have to just trust that Sunday is on the way.”

    Like

    Reply

    • sandra
      Jan 19, 2016 @ 13:56:02

      Thank you, Rocky, for your prayers and your encouragement. “Through the Eyes of a Lion” has been on my “to-read” list for awhile now! I heard Levi Lusko interviewed on a podcast before and have been wanting to read his book ever since….hopefull soon!!

      Like

      Reply

  5. Cherie
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 21:51:24

    Hey, I like your lamps! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

