Goal #2 For 2016

At the beginning of the month, I talked about the fact that even though resolutions and goals would not be my major focus of 2016, I still have chosen to set several goals for myself. I already shared goal #1 in an earlier post.

Today I’ll share goal #2…..taking control of my health. Many of you probably have a similar goal. I’ll admit, this is a tough one for me. You see, I’ve always eaten anything I wanted, whenever I wanted. I also hate to exercise (or to sweat, for that matter 🙂 ). But as I get older, this doesn’t seem to be working out too well for me. My last physical revealed that some of my labwork was not exactly where it should be. Every morning I seem to wake up with a new ache or pain, and that dreaded scale keeps creeping up. 😦

Honestly, I’ve just not been a good steward of my body over the last several years. So, I’ve decided to try to change some of these things. In order to meet this goal, I have a list of a few things that I’m trying to do.

1. Make healthier food choices. I’ve been eating more salads…which I love, but it just takes a little more effort. I’m also trying to drink several healthy smoothies each week. It’s a good way to get fruits and veggies in. Also, I’m trying to cut back on sweets…so far I’m not doing too great with this. 😦

IMG_20160109_182525

2. Eat more flax-seed and oats, both of which help to lower cholesterol. I put flax-seed on my salads and both flax and oats in my smoothies.

20160118_130516

3. Remember to take my Calcium every day. I never take medicine, so I struggle with remembering to do this.

4. Go to the gym 3x/week. I’m happy to report that I have succeeded in this for the last two weeks! I keep hoping that one day I’ll turn in to one of those people that LOVE to go to the gym and their day is just not complete if they don’t go. Well….it hasn’t happened yet. Every single day, I dread going to the gym.

5. And as a bonus, I’ve signed up for my first 5K, thanks to the encouragement of a friend. And the weird thing is…I’m kind of excited about it!

I’d love to hear about your goals for making healthy changes this year! Maybe you’ll inspire me…I need all the inspiration I can get!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Frank
    Jan 25, 2016 @ 08:55:59

    Congratulations! Good Job!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Susan Dell
    Jan 25, 2016 @ 09:54:18

    Great job! I don’t like to exercise/sweat either… Rebekah and I are going to run our first 5K together, the Color Run! We are super excited!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Becky
    Jan 25, 2016 @ 10:26:33

    I’d love to run the 5K with you! Which race did you sign-up for?

    Like

    Reply

    • sandra
      Jan 25, 2016 @ 11:19:24

      I’d love for you to go with us, Becky! But…you used the word “run”….I don’t run; I’ll be walking. 🙂 It’s the Shamrock Run in Newnan in March.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Goal #3 for 2016 | Trusting His Plan
  5. Trackback: Goal #4 for 2016 | Trusting His Plan

Leave a Reply

