Goal #3 for 2016

I’ve been sharing my goals for 2016. Goal #1 is to read at least one book a month, Goal #2 is to take control of my health, and today I’ll share Goal #3.

Goal #3 is to read through the Bible in a year. I have read all of the books of the Bible…many several times…but I’ve never read through with an intentional plan for completing the entire Bible in one year. This year I am using a reading plan called For the Love of God that is put out by the Gospel Coalition. You can sign up at their site and every day you will receive an email with the day’s reading and a short devotion. The daily reading is approximately 4 chapters…one from four different books of the Bible; so far it’s been two Old Testament books and two New Testament books.

I really like doing it this way. It’s really easy to get bogged down in Leviticus or Numbers if you try to read straight through starting at Genesis. This way there are great glimpses of how the Old Testament and the New Testament really carry the same theme throughout the entire Bible. So far I’ve completed the books of Matthew, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther. Currently, I am reading the books of Genesis, Job, Mark and Romans.

Even though I’ve listed this as Goal #3, I really consider it my most important goal. God’s Word is active and alive. It has answers to all my questions. It provides me with comfort, wisdom, guidance and peace. It is the number one way that the Lord communicates with me. As a Christ follower, it is my spiritual nourishment and without a daily intake of it, my spiritual health suffers tremendously.

20160203_232436

If you are not already reading the Word every day, I highly encourage you to start. If you’ve never read the Bible before, begin in the book of John…it’s a great place to start! If you have read the Bible, but only in bits and pieces and only on an occasional basis, I encourage you start reading the Bible every day…even if it’s just a chapter or two from Psalms or Proverbs. And if you are ready to go deeper in your knowledge of the Word, I would encourage you to pick a reading plan and commit to reading through the Bible…cover to cover! There are lots of plans to choose from, but this is the link to the For the Love of God plan that I am using: http://blogs.thegospelcoalition.org/loveofgod/

We all make time for other things in our lives: tv, facebook, other social media, movies, books, magazines, hobbies, etc. I challenge you to make it a priority to spend time in God’s Word every day. It certainly pays greater dividends than any of these other activities!

Even though we are already a month into 2016, it’s not too late to start. Start today and make it a daily habit!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 08:37:44

    I am reading through using a Chronological approach. It is interesting.

    Like

    Reply

  2. kddmyers
    Feb 04, 2016 @ 17:48:50

    What a great post! Discipleship Journal also has some good reading plans. I am (re)starting one that goes through a book at a time, alternating between Old and New Testament and including some reading from a poetry/wisdom chapter each day. The Word never returns void.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Feb 07, 2016 @ 16:19:11

    Thanks Sandra for this post. It was just what I needed. I have now started my reading through the Bible. Thanks for the web page. I’m sure it will be a blessing to me.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Goal #4 for 2016 | Trusting His Plan

Leave a Reply

