What Did You Read In January?

One of my goals this year is to read at least 1 book/month. This is probably my easiest goal to meet..I didn’t aim very high, so that at the end of the year, I will have met at least one of my goals. 🙂

So, for the month of January I exceeded my goal! I read two books! The first book was The Syringa Tree and you can read my review here.

20160110_224258

The second book that I read was Rising Strong by Brene Brown. I had heard great things about this book, but I can’t say it was a favorite of mine. Because she was not writing from a Christian perspective, there were things that I did not agree with her about. Of course, not all books have to be written through a Christian worldview to be a good book, but in this particular book it caused me to disagree with her recommended approach to some things. With that being said, there were definitely things that I did agree with and I took away some good ideas and encouragement.

My February is off to a good start, as I have already completed one book this month! What about you? How are you doing with your reading goals for 2016? What did you read in January?? Please feel free to share!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Feb 07, 2016 @ 10:18:30

    Great job on meeting your goal so far! I have read four books so far this year and am working on my fifth, so I am making good progress on my goal too!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Feb 15, 2016 @ 08:28:15

    I read The Pecan Man, The Art Forger, and Between Shades of Grey (has nothing to do with Shades of Grey!) during January. I just started a VERY good book — Being Mortal — this past week, too. It is also my goal to read more for pleasure, and I’m actually sticking to it. Thanks for the book recommendations, Sandra!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: What Did You Read In February? | Trusting His Plan
  4. LeDawn
    Mar 01, 2016 @ 16:54:16

    I totally agree about the book “Rising Strong”. I had heard such great things about it, and while I thought some of the info. was useful, and could appreciate some of her stories, it wasn’t at all what I expected (and seemed very wordy-is that a thing?). I had to make myself finish it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

