What Did You Read In February?

Another month has come and gone. Time to do a check up on my goal to read at least one book/month in 2016. I exceeded my reading goal in January, and read two books. Again this month, I am happy to report that I read two more books!

The first book I read was Through the Eyes of a Lion by Levi Lusko. I first heard about this book awhile back when I was listening to a podcast from Elevation Church and Levi was being interviewed. I knew then that I HAD to read his book. Recently, a friend mentioned that she was reading the book and offered to let me borrow her copy. I read it and was not disappointed.

Here is the book description from Amazon:

What will you do when the unthinkable happens in your life?
Her parents called her Lenya Lion because of her ferocious personality and hair that had been wild and mane-like since birth. But they never expected that, five days before Christmas, their five-year-old daughter would suddenly go to heaven after an asthma attack. How do you walk out of an emergency room without your daughter?

In Through the Eyes of a Lion, Pastor Levi Lusko shares the eye-opening truth of the power of hope in a world that is often filled with pain, suffering, and loss. He says, “This book isn’t a manual for grieving, but a manifesto for high-octane living, and through it I want you to see that God made you for a purpose. There is a wild and wonderful calling on your life, a microphone in your hands. Jesus wants you to look at the adventure of your life through His eyes, the eyes of a Lion.”

Part memoir but all overtly instructive and deeply inspirational, Through the Eyes of a Lion gives readers the tools they need to face their fears and turn their journey into a roar story.
Chapter themes include:
Don’t rely on the naked eye
Run towards the roar
There’s no such thing as a wireless anchor
Let God use your pain
Cue the eagle

What we do in life really does echo in eternity. You are destined for impact, and there’s not a moment to lose!

This was definitely a difficult read considering the subject matter, but it was also very real, very inspirational and very encouraging. I highly recommend this book, especially if you’ve ever experienced a loss in your life.

The second book I read was Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline. Another great book!! I was two for two this month! I borrowed this book from Overdrive through my local library and read it on my Kindle. Did you know you could do that….borrow Kindle books through your library??? Very cool!

I had seen this book mentioned several times, so when I saw it on Overdrive, I decided to check it out. I’m so glad I did! It is a great book that intertwines the life stories of a teenage girl and an elderly lady who, as a young girl finds herself without parents and is sent across the country on an orphan train to find a new life. The orphan trains are a very sad part of our American history that I knew very little about. Very interesting and engaging read.

Now it’s your turn! What did you read in February??

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Mar 01, 2016 @ 15:52:40

    I am almost finished reading Finding God When You Need Him Most by Chip Ingram. I enjoy his books and this was has been very good. He walks through Psalm 23 in a refreshing way.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Connie
    Mar 01, 2016 @ 17:44:03

    Sandra, I so enjoy reading your posts and always find encouragement in your words. Unfortunately, I’m not a big reader but I will have lots of time on my hands over the next few weeks. I was recently diagnosed with breast cancer and am scheduled for a bilateral mastectomy next Friday. I would love to have a suggestion of a couple of books if you wouldn’t mind.
    Blessings to you and your family. Connie Davenport

    Like

    Reply

    • sandra
      Mar 01, 2016 @ 18:15:27

      Connie,
      I am so sorry to hear this…I had no idea! I will be praying for you. Please let me know if I can help you in any way! As far as book suggestions..my all-time favorite fiction book is Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. It is based on the book of Hosea, yet set in modern day times. Even if you’re not a big reader, I think you would love this one! I have never met anyone that didn’t start this book and have a hard time putting it down! Another good book that I read not too long ago is Still Alice. It is about a woman with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. They made the book into a movie, but the book is SO much better! Hope you’ll get a chance to read one of these, and if so, I’d love to hear what you think! Praying for you!

      Like

      Reply

      • Connie
        Mar 01, 2016 @ 18:25:45

        Thank you! As you know, the C word hits you like a ton of bricks. But I know that God has given me this opportunity for a reason. My prayer is to glorify Him through this ordeal. I appreciate the suggestion and will definitely let you know once I’ve read them.

        Like

        Reply

  3. Bethany Johnson
    Mar 01, 2016 @ 20:47:21

    A friend just returned my copy of Girl in the Song by Chrissy Cymbala Toledo. Her story (the true story of a girl who lost her way and the miracle that led her home). Excellent! You’re welcomed to borrow it.

    Love and hugs,

    Bethany Johnson Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cherie
    Mar 02, 2016 @ 21:49:57

    Sandra, both those books sound really good!! I’m still working on The Light and the Glory…got waylaid by the Konos play. Hoping to get back to it soon. See ya in the morning! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

