Three Things That Are Bringing Me Joy This Week

This life is hard. We’ve all got hard things in our lives that we have to deal with. Many times I let the hard things consume me and I pay little attention to the things that make me happy or bring a smile to my face. Recently I’ve decided to start purposefully looking for these sweet things in life. To pay attention and to be grateful. I thought I’d start recording these things on my blog, so that on the hard days I can look back and remember the things that have brought me joy. Sometimes the things are big but many times, I think, it’s the small things that can bring great joy!

These are the things that are bringing me joy this week!

Yellow Bells blooming in my backyard!

Yellow Bells blooming in my backyard!

These Yellow Bells are one of the first things in my yard to bloom each year. I love sitting out on my screen porch and enjoying the beautiful color along with the sweet sounds of nature.

My beautiful saucer magnolia blooming for the first time!

My beautiful saucer magnolia blooming for the first time!

This tree is so special to me! Several months before Greg’s death, one of his good friends from work brought Greg a beautiful saucer magnolia for he and Jake to plant together. Greg had decided on the perfect spot for the tree, but said that he wanted to cut another tree down before he planted the new one. Unfortunately, Greg’s health deteriorated and he and Jake were never able to plant the tree. Some time after Greg’s death, a neighbor helped Jake cut down the old tree and plant the new one where Greg had wanted it. But, we had waited too long to get the tree in the ground, and it did not survive.

Several months ago, I was having some landscaping done and I knew I wanted to have another saucer magnolia planted right where Greg had wanted it. Now the tree is blooming for the first time and it brings me such joy every time I look at it!

A gift from Greg

A gift from Greg

I have always loved Thrift….especially when it’s growing on a hill. Several years after we moved into this house, Greg found some wild-growing Thrift somewhere and dug up some clumps and brought it home for me. He planted it along the hill in our front yard. Every year it seems to spread a little more, and every time I drive past the front of my house, it makes me smile!

So, these are three of the things that are bringing me joy this week! I’d love for you to share some things that are bringing you joy this week!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Alice
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 14:32:17

    Bravo! Very inspiring to read your blogs.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Lynn
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 18:31:15

    I love forsythia and thrift, too. My forsythia is blooming across the front and back … my grandmother always called them “yellow bells.” My plants are transplants from her to my mom (two houses) and then to me. I don’t have thrift … not from lack of trying, but I do have lots of violets and wood sorrel. They are the heralds of spring at my house. Enjoy! The early blooms are the most cheerful.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Gina
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 09:03:20

    Sandra I want you to know that your posts bring me joy! Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Cherie
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 10:02:02

    I love spring!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

