Haiti Day Two (Sunday)

We got up Sunday morning and had breakfast at the Guest House.

Colin and Jacob

Colin and Jacob

Roxie

Roxie

Henry, Rhonda and Emilie

Henry, Rhonda and Emilie

Jennifer and Kevin

Jennifer and Kevin

Jake, Lyn and Dave

Jake, Lyn and Dave

Emilie and I ready for church

Emilie and I ready for church

Our church sponsors Hope for the Children, an orphanage in the town of Santos. We were blessed to be able to attend a church service there with the children.

20160403_090042

LOVED hearing the children singing!!

20160403_094040

Jacob was one of two people on our team who shared about a difficult time in their life. I was so proud of him for agreeing to do something that was really hard for him, with the hope that it would encourage these children. It’s hard to hear, (especially with the dog barking :)) but hopefully you can make out what he’s saying. You might have to use headphones.

Steffie....this little girl is all attitude!!

Steffie….this little girl is all attitude!!

Some of the kids "fixed" my hair.  :)

Some of the kids “fixed” my hair. 🙂

Some of the boys playing basketball

Some of the boys playing basketball

The boys LOVED Kevin's watch!

The boys LOVED Kevin’s watch!

The girls loved wearing my sunglasses.

The girls loved wearing my sunglasses.

This little girl, Roseguerline, attached herself to me the first day I met her! She took Emilie and I into her room, climbed up on her bed, lifted her mattress and got some pictures that she had drawn. She gave one to each of us. She then led us into one of the school rooms, closed the door and locked it. She wanted to use my phone and made some pictures of herself and also pictures of me and Emilie. She found some music on my phone and proceeded to do a sweet dance for us. Roseguerline was quite possessive of me and didn’t want me giving any attention to the other children. At one point, we were sitting outside on a bench and another little girl came up beside me. Roseguerline kept pushing her away. Finally the little girl, got very close to me and began singing in my ear. She then went over to Emilie and did the same thing. It was sooo sweet!

Roseguerline

Roseguerline

Emilie and I with the pictures that Roseguerline gave us.

Emilie and I with the pictures that Roseguerline gave us.

The little girl who sang in my ear.

The little girl that sang in my ear.

Jacob and Lemsley became best buds!

Jacob and Lemsley became best buds!

Emilie and Steffie

Emilie and Steffie

We were served a delicious meal!

20160403_135221

20160403_135238

20160403_135257

20160403_135347

We had a wonderful day meeting the children and spending the day with them! As I mentioned before, our church supports this orphanage. There are 62 children and each child is sponsored by a family in our church. Once we returned to the Guest House and had our evening meeting, we found out that three children did not yet have a sponsor. I decided right then that we needed to sponsor one of these children. Kevin and Jennifer also chose to sponsor one of the children…Samuela. Samuela’s sister, Minerva also needed a sponsor, so we chose her. We didn’t know many of the children’s names yet, so we were looking forward to seeing them again the next day and finding our new “family member”!!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. David Rauch
    Apr 16, 2016 @ 08:46:51

    Great pics and videos Sandra.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

