Happy Birthday Greg!

Yesterday was Greg’s birthday. He would have been 52. We were sad that we couldn’t celebrate with him, but…we still chose to celebrate! The day that Greg came into this world is certainly a day worth celebrating. The world is a better place for Greg having been here….even if only for 49 short years. He impacted lives. He brought joy and laughter to those that knew him. He loved and was loved. He made a difference.

I thought all day yesterday about what to post and just couldn’t find any words other than what I had posted on Greg’s last two birthdays. Then I saw a post that Jacob wrote yesterday morning and decided that he said very beautifully what we all were feeling. So I thought it fitting that I share his words here.

Happy birthday Dad! Although happy will be hard for me on your birthday I will try my best because if I know anything about you it is that you would do anything for me to be happy. I love you Dad and I miss you more than I though possible. But I’m glad I have the opportunity to miss you. I’m so glad you were a good dad and that I get the chance I think back on all our memories with love. That is way more than a lot of kids get. Even though some people may call me unlucky for the hand I’ve been felt I consider myself blessed beyond measure! I’m not lucky because you’re gone but because I got to spend the first 14 years of my life with who I genuinely believe was one of the greatest men God has ever created. So today I choose not only happiness but thankfulness. Thankful for every second I had with you. I’m thankful for having a dad as awesome as you! Thank you Dad! I love and miss oh so much!
Your number one son,
Jake

For the last two years our family has gone to a Braves game to celebrate Greg’s birthday, but this year there wasn’t a game in town. We decided to just all go out to dinner and spend time together. Here are a few pictures from last night.

20160519_195600

My niece, Amanda with her husband, Ryan and son, Zachary

My niece, Amanda with her husband, Ryan and son, Zachary

Greg's parents and sister

Greg’s parents and sister

20160519_194927

20160519_200113

Happy Birthday, Greg! We love and miss you more every day and can’t wait until we’re all together again!

Trusting His Plan,
Sandra

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherie
    May 20, 2016 @ 09:56:05

    Happy Birthday, Greg! Jake, a great tribute to your dad! I’m proud of you and grateful that you CHOOSE thankfulness and happiness. It is indeed a choice!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Gina
    May 20, 2016 @ 11:36:15

    I miss Greg also but I realize that I cannot imagine what the four of you have gone through the last few years. I know Greg is smiling down and very proud of you and the kids…..he was a wonderful father.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Mary Alice
    May 20, 2016 @ 12:29:33

    Very well done! Greg would be so pleased. Beautiful pictures! Love you all!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

