How Do You Smell Today??

 

It’s another beautiful morning on my porch! All of the gardenia buds seem to have popped open since yesterday morning and the fragrance is amazing! It reminds me of how, as Christians, we are called to be the aroma of Christ. (2 Cor. 2:15) Sometimes I wonder what my “aroma” is to those around me. Is it sweet and inviting, full of the scents of love, kindness, acceptance, gentleness, joy, peace, contentment, patience and humility? Or is it offensive and repelling, reeking of hatred, anger, bitterness, judgement, arrogance, discontentment and hypocrisy?

Oh, how I want it to be that sweet fragrance that attracts others and points them to Jesus! Much like the smell of smoke that permeates and follows you as you leave a bonfire, I want to spend time with Jesus every day so that, when I walk away from our meeting, I carry with me the sweet fragrance that will be noticed by anyone that I come in contact with that day. The aroma of Christ.

How do you smell today???

“Everywhere we go, people breathe in the exquisite fragrance. Because of Christ, we give off a sweet scent rising to God, which is recognized by those on the way of salvation—an aroma redolent with life.”  2 Cor 2:15 (the Message)

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Norma
    May 18, 2017 @ 11:16:02

    PERFECT reminder! Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Cherie
    May 18, 2017 @ 20:32:41

    Gardenias are my favorite!!!! Beautiful reminder!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

